Homemade Laundry Detergent

23 Apr

Every time I saw on Pinterest that someone made their own laundry detergent, I would think how it was nice for them, but would never work for me.  I truly didn’t believe that the clothes belonging to the MESS of a boy that I adore and call son could EVER be cleaned up with something homemade!  And then what about all of my stinky work out clothes?  But I kept hearing of friends biting the bullet, so I went for it.  I can’t believe each time I do our laundry that this stuff works so well!  And even better, the scent is unbelievable! It makes me very happy!  Best of all, I am saving money.  As far as time, it takes about 15 minutes every two months.

I have an old school washer, but my pal Jennifer (check out her awesome blog and health coaching business HERE) has a HE front loader and she uses the same stuff.  So YES, you fancy people can use it, too!
photo (41)

THREE ingredients!  That is all!  Borax, Washing Soda, and 2 bars of your favorite scented Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps.  I have three different scents pictured here because I use the Citrus Orange for my sister and the Lavender and Peppermint combined for my mom and for me.  But smell them all and pick your favorite! Or make a combo of your own.

         

photo (42)

When I cut the bars of soap before grinding them, I like to cut them against the edge of the soap so that they start to crumble a bit, as pictured above.  

    

photo (40)

How to make it:

  • 2 bars of Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap (available at most grocery stores/Targets in their natural health sections)
  • 4 cups Borax
  • 4 cups Washing Soda  (found by the Borax in the laundry aisle)

First, slice your bars of soap with a large knife.  Then place those pieces in a food processor (I use a Cuisinart…don’t use Vitamix or other blender bc it doesn’t work as well.)  Grind them until they are as fine as they will get.  You may have to stop and clear the large pieces out of the way if you didn’t slice your bar enough.  Then add the Borax and Washing Soda.  Turn it on and allow all of the 3 things to mix and the soap to grind even smaller.  THAT IS IT FOLKS!

I got the container and scoop at The Container Store.  For a large load of laundry (and I really fill my washer to capacity), I will use a scoop and a half.  I can probably get away with less, but my gym clothes stink and Reid is seriously a MESS, so I don’t take chances!

Happy laundry!

Leave a Reply

