Something fishy is going on here….. (and a meal plan)

20 Jan

Yes, it is.  Right now, on a very seldom basis.  But it is.

Now that I have gone a year and a half remaining pretty strict, it is time I start seeing where the line is.  Do I need to be ALL VEGAN ALL THE TIME?  Or can I have some animal here and there and remain in a healthy state?

A few things to clarify.  First off, I am only going to eat wild, fresh fish.  No farm raised. I only want to consume that which is not inflammatory to the body.  Secondly, it will be very rare at the beginning.

I hesitated to even bring it up on this blog bc a lot of you are trying plant based eating to  heal diseases, as well.  Please hear this:  I HAVE BEEN TOTALLY STRICT FOR A YEAR AND  A HALF.  This has allowed my body to heal an enormous amount.  I am now going to play around a little bit.  My sweet husband is charting everything.  I will continue to report back here so you know the results.  How fun would it be for me to be able to add some foods in occasionally?  Lets just hope that Lupus cooperates!

This week will still be a vegan week.  It isn’t a normal week….so I won’t be cooking much.  But it is good to have a plan no matter what your week looks like.  This will avoid the pitfalls of grabbing something unhealthy.  Have a healthy week!

  • Sunday- Reid is planning an outdoor meal and preparing it for  his Cubs Scouts badge.  He is cooking sausage (uncured, all natural) and making a fruit salad and serving it with grape tomatoes.  I will have roasted kale in place of sausage.
  • Mon- Roasted Vegetable quinoa salad, prepare by Gretchen
  • Tues- Leftover butternut squash risotto.  Made this as a family last night.  We all enjoyed it so much and I LOVE that the kids are finally coming around to eating things they didn’t before. Keep feeding your kids veggies, people!  It will happen!
  • Wed- Bean quesadillas.  Just good and simple and easy and cheap!
  • Thurs- Greek food out, possibly something else.  I just need something quick and easy this night.
  • Fri- A girlfriend is coming in town….so I am off the hook!  Kids and Luck will do something fun.

Your turn!  What are you eating this week?

 

8 Responses to “Something fishy is going on here….. (and a meal plan)”

  1. Gretchen January 21, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    The Cub Scout stuff is fun! Will cooked breakfast outside over Christmas break:). Here is our menu for the week.
    Sun- corn and black bean salad chicken breast added on the side for my parents and the family,
    Mon- roasted veggie and quinoa salad with fresh fruit
    Tues-homemade pasta with sauce, meatballs for those who want and roasted broccoli
    Wed-baked potato soup
    Thurs-Asian noodles
    Fri- pizza
    Sat- leftovers or paninis

    • Kara January 22, 2013 at 7:27 am #

      Hi Gretchen! Do you have a recipe for the Asian noodles you make? And the roasted veggie & quinoa salad?

      Thank you!!! 🙂
      Kara

      • Gretchen January 22, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

        Kara here is the link for the veggie quinoa salad. I loved it! http://www.thetalkingkitchen.com/roasted-veggie-quinoa-salad/

      • Gretchen January 23, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

        I tried to post an Asian noodle recipe but it didn’t post. Anyway, I love the pioneer woman’s Asian noodle salad recipe. So good! It makes a huge amount but it keeps well. I often modify with what veggies I have on hand. Rice noodles, veggies, an Asian dressing, and either peanuts or cashews and dinner is served. This is a family favorite now.

      • brittluck January 23, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

        Here are the Asian noodles: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/03/my_most_favorite_salad_ever_ever_ever_ever/ If you don’t know how to cook rice noodles (not rice pasta), let me know! I can name a large number of people who consider this one of their favorite recipes! It is a lot of chopping, but SO dang good! Enjoy!!

      • Kara January 28, 2013 at 7:21 am #

        Thanks, Gretchen & Brit! I’m so excited about the Asian noodle recipe! 🙂

        And Brit, of course I have no idea how to cook rice noodles, even though my husband is half Asian… 🙂 Whenever you get a chance, I’d appreciate you helping this non-Asian married to a half-Asian learn how to cook some rice noodles!

  2. Kara January 22, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    Thank you, Brit, for helping me meal plan!

    Mon: Peter made breakfast for kiddos
    Tues: Baked Potato Bar & fruit
    Wed: Pizza at church, Jordan & I will have PBJ
    Thurs: Taco Bar (Meat eaters can have meat, I will offer quinoa & black bean tacos & make everyone try a little!) & fruit
    Fri: Vegan Quesadillas & fruit
    Sat: Vegan Tortilla Soup (meat eaters can put left over taco meat in), possibly make grilled cheese as well & fruit

    Seems like we are having a lot of Mexican this week! LOL! My favorite, though! 🙂 And it’s easy!

    • brittluck January 22, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

      So proud of you!! When tasting out the tacos, I highly recommend you just stuff the tacos with “meat” and whatever else you normally put in them. Feed them to everyone not knowing that is could possibly be something other than meat. I bet they won’t notice!!!! I have served them to multiple people and nobody knew! And I am talking about hard core carnivores!
      And Mexican is always good!

Leave a Reply

