Wanna Bet? (and a meal plan)

13 Jan

Some honesty:  Thanksgiving, followed by Christmas, followed by New Years, followed by our anniversary = I have no more reasons to celebrate and splurge on eating for a while!

I am taking part in Nutritious Eats’ diet bet.  Click HERE to join.  Everyone who participates puts $25 in the pot.  You then have 28 days to lose 4% of your body weight.  If you do, you get to split the pot with everyone else who does!  Sounds fun, right?  Who can’t buckle down for 4 weeks?

I am excited about the challenge.  Honestly, I don’t care much about losing a certain number of lbs.  I am heavier than I was a year ago, but overall content.  I just want a month of being super focused on eating for HEALTH.  I’d like to focus on pulling back my appetite, kicking my sugar craving,  crowding out  my plate, and, well, having my pants fit a little bit more loosely!

YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO JOIN!!!!!  Please let me know if you do.  Or comment with your email address and I will send you an invitation.

Know how to eat healthfully, consistently?  MEAL PLAN!  Post what you will eat for the week.  You will stay accountable to it!  It helps with budgeting and with making good choices.  I will start posting my meal plans again.  I hate even doing this week’s because we have a really busy week that isn’t normal.  But here is what a busy plant based menu looks like!

  • Sunday: Vegan grilled cheese with carrots, tomatoes, and cuties
  • Monday: Chick pea curry (recipe coming soon!) over brown rice with roasted broccoli
  • Tuesday: We have a dinner meeting where I will be fed according to my diet. Wayside rocks!
  • Wednesday:  Baked potatoes (cheese on the families’, avocado on mine) and green salad with carrots, cucumber, tomatoes, and anything else I can find.
  • Thursday: I am teaching a cooking class, so my family will eat “eggs in the holes” with fruit.  (actually, they like “eggs in the squares!”)
  • Friday: Pizza Friday!

YOUR turn!  What are YOU eating this week?  Don’t be embarassed, shy, anything!  It can be full of meat or meat free.  Healthy or hearty!  Just put it out there.  We all get new ideas this way.  And link to a recipe if it is online!

Happy week!

7 Responses to “Wanna Bet? (and a meal plan)”

  1. Gretchen January 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    I am so glad Melanie is having success with the diet bet. I am not participating with money but will be joining you all in spirit by getting back into the swing of eating healthfully and need to get recommitted. So my diet bet goals are to drink enough water, eat a strong plant based diet, avoid sweets, and evening nosh that always gets me in trouble. I also want to get back into regular workouts.
    So here is our menu for the week
    Sun- leftovers and sandwiches
    Mon- chickpea goodness and broccoli. I can’t wait for you to post this recipe!
    Tues-veggie stir fry with potstickers for the family
    Wed-a leftover meal in the freezer
    Thurs- spring rolls
    Fri- baked potatoes
    Sat- we are going out to big Lou’s with my whole family so my parents can experience the 42 in pizza. Not diet bet worthy but oh well…

  2. jennifermurata January 13, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Just posted my menu for the week as well. Glad we talked about joining the DietBet, I think it’ll be fun.

    Here’s what we’re having:
    Monday – Hoisin-Glazed Salmon, sushi rice and salad.
    Tuesday – Beyond crazy night, so Bean Tacos or Chalupas it is.
    Wednesday – Chicken Teriyaki Sushi Bowls
    Thursday – Greek Bowls
    Friday – Trying a new Friday tradition of burgers instead of pizza. Not sure exactly what kind of burgers yet. hmmm

    My menu can be found at http://healthnutmomma.com/2013/01/13/meal-plan-sunday/ for a link to recipes.

    Thanks for posting today Britt. It helped catapult me to plan and blog as well!

  3. Dana McKenna January 13, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Monday- your taco meat & kale salad
    Tuesday- falafel, homemade hummus, quinoa & roasted okra
    Wednesday- spagetti squash with a creamy avocado sauce & steamed broccoli
    Thursday- veggie chili for the family, i am coming to your wonderful cooking class!!
    Friday- pizza & salad

    • brittluck January 13, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

      I want to come to a cooking class of YOURS! Let me know how that creamy avocado sauce is. And do you use the falafel recipe you gave me from Green?

      • Dana McKenna January 15, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

        Creamy Avocado sauce was great! 3 out of 4 liked it. Good on both spagetti squash and pasta. It is on my pinterest board.

    • Gretchen January 13, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Dana I would love your avocado sauce recipe. That sound fantastic! I also would love the falafel recipe if you are willing to share.

      • Dana McKenna January 14, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

        The recipe for the creamy avocado sauce is on Oh She Glows blog. This is my first time to make it. I will let you know what we think of it.

        Gretchen- i got the falafel recipe from a cooking class at green vegetarian. Message me your email address and i will send it to you. We love it! I make 2-3 batches at a time, bake them, then freeze, then reheat in a sautee pan with a small amount of oil for a quick dinner or lunch. One note on making a large batch, my food processor will only hold the ingredients for one batch at a time so i mix the mulitlple batches back to back in the food processor.

Leave a Reply

