Tips for a Healthy 2013!

1 Jan

photo (22)

It is a new year!  A time for fresh resolutions and determined resolve.

Today, I started off with teaching Pilates and am now embarking on a fast.  Not sure how long I want this water fast to last.  Maybe just to sunset.  Maybe tomorrow.  Maybe a few days.  (can you hear my tummy growling from your house?)

My health goals: Get back to eating plant strong.  Not just vegan, but LOADS of plants.  Crowding out my plate.  I would also like to move further in Pilates and go through Reformer training.  Some day I would love to have my own Pilates studio and I would like to start working towards that.  I also want to make a concerted effort to get off of Prilosec. The last man standing in the meds.  It may be over the counter, but I still want off.

So what are your goals?  Want to join me in kicking off 2013 right?  You don’t need to fast.  Or eat plant based.  Or eat gluten free.  Or exercise like a maniac.  Here are my suggestions for getting healthy in 2013:

  • Drink a smoothie every morning.  Blend almond/coconut milk, frozen collard greens (or kale or mustard greens) with frozen berries, milled flax seeds, and a banana  (If you need it for flavor and sweetness.  I prefer without.)  Add some cinnamon and vanilla for flavor.   I believe that THIS IS THE CORNERSTONE OF MY HEALING.  Every morning, without excuse, I make this.  And I drink this.  And my body is saying thank you in SO many ways!  Read here for my GREAT START SHAKE recipe and here for a little tutorial!
  • Make a really healthy soup on the weekend and eat it as your lunch all week long.  That way, you aren’t pulled into snacking on your kids leftovers or something you really know you shouldn’t eat.  Include tons and tons of veggies in your soup!  Some ideas: vegetable rice soup, butternut squash soup, vegetarian pho, lentil soup, black bean soup, and so many more!!!  I will post more soup recipes, if you would like!
  • Aim for more and more meatless days every week.  Start out with 1 or 2.  You will soon see that you don’t need meat to be strong, have energy, or anything else that the world tries to sell you on.  I am LIVING PROOF, people!  Don’t know what to make?  Start here for tacos.  Then peruse my blog and many, many other recipes on the great www.  Why meatless you say?  Because more and more and more research every day shows that we consume way too much animal protein.  Animal is inflammatory to the body.  Our chickens and pigs and cows are not fed what they ought to be fed.  They are fed to make them fat for not a lot of money.  Do your research on this. I ate a healthy diet of lean, organic (when possible) protein with lots of fruits and veggies before.  I was SO SICK.  Off all of the animal, my body is healing itself without meds.  What argument is there that we NEED meat?  I am strong and still teach weight lifting classes!  Don’t buy into the “you need protein from animals” bit!!! 🙂
  • Watch Forks Over Knives and every other food documentary you can get your hands on.  Most are free on Netflix.
  • Eat a grapefruit at night instead of junk.  Why?  Nothing magical. It is just good and if you start, you will become as addicted as I once was and soon hope to be again.  You have to take your time and work for those little bites!  Oh, and get used to them without sugar.  Buy ruby red ones.  They help!  Then squeeze out the remaining juice and drink it straight from the bowl.  Heaven!
  • Get your hiney moving.  Join a gym, come to one of MY classes (!!), start walking your neighborhood, buy a treadmill.  Just get moving.  Write up your plan, put it on your fridge, tell your kids and spouse so that you have some accountability, and DO IT!
  • Meal plan!  I will resume posting my meal plans if YOU will join along!  I always think through it on the weekend and post it on Sunday.  You will eat so much healthier if you will just plan ahead.

So…please share!!!  What are YOUR goals for the year?  What would you like to see on this blog?  Please comment.  I see how many hits my blog gets and would LOVE more than anything for you to  say hi when you pop in.  🙂

 

Happy New Year!

14 Responses to “Tips for a Healthy 2013!”

  1. Christie January 1, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    I’m with your Brittany! I’m strongly considering leaving my old Snap fitness for the new YMCA in town. I really want to get back into spinning and they also have some good water classes that I can do without hurting myself. Course, due to homeschooling, etc. I have to hit the spin classes at 5:30 a.m. 3 days per week, so that will take much commitment.

    • brittluck January 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      Go for it! Your body will thank you! I hope you are feeling better. So glad to be cyber friends!

  2. Lory January 1, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Thanks for the great tips Brittany. Would love to see more of your soup recipes. I love to make something healthy that I can eat for lunch through the week. Also, I need to get off of dairy again. I think I feel better without it. Need to pick my running back up so hopefully we’ll have some better weather here soon. It does feel really good to recommit to goals and make new resolutions as well. Happy New Year!

    • brittluck January 1, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      I will add some more soups! The hard part with soups is that I don’t follow a recipe. I just add and add. But I have been meaning to write things down. Maybe I will just start with a generic vegetable soup!

  3. April Gale January 1, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Such a good post Brittany. So motivating and informative. I always want an explanation to why we do things and what it is actually doing in my body. Gives me a weird high!!!! So thank you for sharing what you have learned and experienced. I don’t think you realize how much you help others. I love you to the moon and back. (since I was 6!!!!) Smooches and Happy New Year!

  4. Dana January 1, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    My body, mind & life do not function without a daily bowl of oatmeal (usually w fruit mixed in) & a daily BIG salad. I would like to add a daily smoothie, but as of yet had not fallen in love with smoothies. You have inspired me to give them another try.

    • brittluck January 2, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

      Maybe start with a smaller bowl of oatmeal and a small shake? Work your way in? Or have it with your lunch? Keep tweaking til you like it!

  5. Page January 1, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Thank you Brittany for the encouragement. You are one of the most amazing and encouraging people I know. I would love a recipe for the vegetarian pho. We LOVE pho but the recipes I’ve seen for it have totally overwhelmed me and I’ve never made it. Thank you for sharing!

    • brittluck January 2, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

      You are way too sweet!!! I will get that one up soon!

  6. deedee January 2, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    I am one of your regular readers but never comment 🙂 Love your blog and your approach to food. Keep the recipes coming. I have tried several. My goal is a smoothie (your receipe) every morning beginning tomorrow. My frozen veggies and fruit are in the freezer! Question: Why do you add flax seeds?

  7. Christie January 2, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Just found this and I’m gonna try it tomorrow!
    http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/08/29/green-lemonade/

  8. Jillian January 5, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

    Just stopping by to say hi! I love your “getting healthy” suggestions! Rick and I just used all of our wedding gift cards to get a great blender and I’m going to make your morning smoothie tomorrow! It was SO good to see you yesterday. Thanks for all of the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

