Meal plan and update.

30 Sep

Well, I had one good week and then have had some pretty terrible days.  But I am SO grateful for the week!  I am praying that my bad days were spawned because of a meal that I ate on Thursday.  I am pretty sure it must have had MSG and that it took it’s toll on my body for a few days.  Sick as a dog!  The fever and fatigue returned full force, as well as stomach aches.  This week will be better.  I just know it!  Here is our meal plan:

  • Sunday: Greek style quinoa salad (with grape tomatoes, kalamatas for some, and feta for some) and fruit.
  • Monday: Homemade refried beans with Spanish rice (which I will  make with no oil and with veg broth) and a green salad.
  • Tuesday:  National Night Out!  Our street corner is having a block party cook out.  So fun!  I will be having these because 1) they are good and 2) they are one of the few veggie burgers that are not only vegan, but also gluten free.  We will bring watermelon to share.
  • WednesdayVietnamese Summer Rolls, with mango and sweet chili dipping sauce for us and Hokensons.  I really like the mango in these and sometimes add avocado.  They are usually a big hit with the whole family.  Served with fruit salad.

  • Thursday: I have a night out with a few friends, so the family will have egg in the holes.  So cute that this is what they have when I am out.
  • Friday: pizza night!

YOUR TURN!  What is your meal plan for the week?

5 Responses to “Meal plan and update.”

  1. Gretchen September 30, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Here are our plans for the week. I am trying to eat out of our pantry and freezer.
    Sun- stew and toast
    Mon-crockpot beans and rice
    Tues- salad bar
    Wed spring rolls can’t wait to try them with the mango
    Thurs- left overs
    Fri- pizza
    Sat- either breakfast for dinner or paninis

  2. Dana October 1, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Sunday- portabello burgers with chipotle mayo and chipotle/lime roasted potatoes, spinach
    Monday- burrito bowls, cuban black bean, cilantro lime rice, guacamole, lettuce, salsa, etc
    Tuesday- falafel, hummus,tzatziki, sauteed zuchinni and squash
    Wednesday- burgers and broccoli
    Thursday- veggie chili, raw veggies and ranch

    • brittluck October 1, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      What falafel recipe are you using? The spinach one with the tzaziki recipe? Yesterday’s menu sounds wonderful!

      • Dana McKenna October 1, 2012 at 9:50 am #

        Falafel recipe from Green vegetarian. It has gluten in it, but i am sure you could substitute. I can type up the recipe and send it to you if you would like. Tzatziki recipe is from Green as well. I used part of the Tzatziki base to make the chipotle mayo last night and i used Udi’s pizza crust, quartered, for the buns on our burgers.

        I made homemade pumpkin butter for the first time this weekend. Recipe was from oh she glows. It was Surprisingly easy and tasted AMAZING, seriously addictive!!!

      • brittluck October 1, 2012 at 10:18 am #

        I was considering that for Christmas gifts!!! Too funny! I’d love the falafel recipe whenever you have a chance. No hurry!!

Leave a Reply

