Facebook…how do we ever get off?

29 Sep

I am tired of Facebook.  I am tired of people painting what they want you to see of their lives.

I am very well aware of how IMperfect my life is.  And I’m not bothered by it.  I yell at our kids. Our house gets really messy.  I get really mad at Luck.  I am in bed an embarrassing amount.  I have to watch every bite I put in my mouth or I gain weight.  I cry all of the time because people hurt my feelings.  I get really annoyed with stupid drivers.  And I watch reality TV.

I don’t feel threatened by people who paint whatever picture they want you to see.  I just wish it was tempered by reality.  And quite honestly, I think other people do feel inadequate by what they see.  They see other people living “perfect” lives.  And they feel inferior.

I love Facebook because I get to keep in touch with friends from long, long ago that I normally wouldn’t.  Or friends who  move away.  And I love being in touch with my members.  I love hearing what they want to work in class or what they have been up to or how they liked a particular workout. I also wouldn’t want to miss pictures of friends’ lives.  And I love knowing how to pray for people.  When someone’s parent dies, I want to know.  I don’t want to find out months later.  Oh, and I LOVE when people have babies and I get to see pics!  I also love watching friend’s kids grow up.  Facebook has also connected me with other Lupus patients/chronic illness endurers.  What a life line!

But there is a flip side.  There is unnecessary complaining.  There are many FB lurkers who never, ever comment, but follow closely.  PLEASE comment if you follow!  It is a bit odd when lurkers tell me something about myself or kids and I don’t even remember we are FB friends!  Like I said earlier, I am so over people trying to tell the world how important they are by posting how busy their lives are.  WE ARE ALL BUSY!  And bragging on FB makes me wanna gag.

I am SURE I am guilty of the above things.  I am proud of the kiddos and love my hubs terribly. But never, never do I want to paint a picture that is not an accurate reflection of what is happening.

So this leads me to wanting off!  I want off!  But how? This is how I find out info about the kids’ school.  Facebook is a great way to know when someone is hurting. It is a wealth of information when I need/want to know something.  Just post and voila!  I find out about deals and specials and events and so much more!  And it is where most people request I post when I blog.  People would rather just click there than actually “follow” my blog from the site.

So my question is this:  Is this just a way of life now?  Is it something we all just take the good with the bad and move on?

I am going to cut back some.  Don’t have your feelings hurt if I don’t know what’s up.  I love you.  I really, really do.  But ugh.

Is this how everyone feels?  I have a sneaking suspicion it is.  How do you feel about FB?

10 Responses to “Facebook…how do we ever get off?”

  1. Gretchen September 30, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    I think you dove into my mind and typed my thoughts. I am SO struggling with fb. I want off too, but struggle with losing the benefits that come with it.

  2. Lisa S September 30, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Friend! This is why I left FB!! I plan to go back someday when I can better handle everyone else. I just can’t right now. I need my space to be freely imperfect and grumpy and just IN my own life. Please come see my messy house. I will show you. No one else, but I will show you.

    I love you!! You’re not alone in feeling this way. One day I just deactivated without telling anyone. At first I got several texts asking where I went and promises to keep up via phone/text/email…..but they don’t. I can’t tell you how to do it. Maybe only log in certain days if you don’t want off completely yet. Like I said, I will go back. Just need time.

  3. Wade October 1, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I left Facebook for about a year, then again for a summer. Didn’t miss it AT ALL. It is very useful and it’s nice to stay in touch with friends, but there’s just so much more out there. Besides, it makes reconnecting with old friends more special and not using Facebook forces you to prune away some of the unnecessary clutter and ‘fake’ friends. Personally, I suggest going cold turkey and deactivating your account. Don’t delete it permanently, at least not yet, but my vote would be to go for it!

  4. Gretchen October 1, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Thanks for opening this discussion. I have tossed this in my mind since we started. I have realized for me it is all about where my head is. I get frustrated when people complaining or when they brag. I realized I have unrealistic expectations for Facebook friends. I have arrived at the realizations I have a damed if you do damed if you don’t mentality, don’t complain/vent because it could be worse, but if you don’t we’ll then you are giving a unrealistic view of your life. I have realized that I can’t be a part of the social media until I let go of some anger and resentment. I will be sad to miss out on things but will I feel the sacrifice is worth the reward. Anyway, thanks for the food for a lot of thought. If you need me call, text or email. Also I got to figure out how to follow your blog.

    • brittluck October 1, 2012 at 9:21 am #

      When you are looking at my blog, look at the bottom right hand corner. There is a little pop up “Follow” button. Click on it! Then you will get emails when I post a new post.

      I am not quite ready to get off bc of all of the good. But it is a hard call. Proud of you!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Gretchen October 1, 2012 at 10:50 am #

        I got signed up for the emails. I am not sure how long I will be unplugged, but think it is best for me know, besides I waste so much time and need to be studying not creeping on Facebook. Let me know if anything big happens that I need to know about:)

  5. Gretchen October 3, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    FYI just discovered that when I pin to Pinterest I have to re activate my fb and then deactivate it again. I need to figure out another way to do this. I use my Pinterest a lot. Food for thought if you take the plunge.

  6. Gaye October 4, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    For me, it’s a way of life. I also love watching everyone’s children grow. I feel privileged to be asked to pray for someone or their family members. I personally don’t post everything about my life or my kids life (I try not to post a pic a day of my grandbaby). If I have prayer requests I write personal notes with requests.
    While I admire some who have a gift for writing messages, it takes me forever to post something that reflects me and my thoughts. (4 attempts and 20 min later I hope to finish this post)
    So, I will choose to ignore TMI posts and rejoice in life’s victories with my friends on fb.
    Thanks for your post Britt, I always enjoy reading your thoughts.

  7. Chelsea October 14, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I’d rather get the FB links than an email alerting me when you post. I get more than 200 emails a day for work and school and other junk, and I no longer enjoy email at all! I agree with you on the annoyances of FB — I don’t care to see photos of people’s fancy dinners or hear about the grumpy person’s tirades. But after a while, I just hide the grumpy people. I like having you on FB!

  8. Emily January 20, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    I’m a little late responding, but YES. I am torn, I love FB – the baby pictures, OH THE BABY PICTURES! But there is a lot of complaining and politic-ing. Ugh. So I have just systematically “un-followed” people who I don’t want to hear from anymore. I hate un-friending people, as it hurts my feelings when people do it to me. 😦

Leave a Reply

