Huge news about a small spot! (and a meal plan!)

23 Sep

So, about 3 years ago I noticed that I had a spot on my scalp where my part is.  It was right at the hairline.  I won’t go in to details…but it bothered me and wouldn’t go away.  I finally went in to a dermatologist. He looked at it, determined it was precancerous, and froze it off.

Within a few months, it was back.  And it wasn’t happy.  But there was not much I could do about it.  I did my best to ignore it.  But it was annoying and would bleed.  Like I said, it wasn’t happy.

Once I got the Lupus diagnosis, we realized it was just a Lupus spot.  If that first doctor had only biopsied it, he would have know that it was NOT, in fact, precancerous.  And he could have given me a head start on my Lupus diagnosis.

Being on the Lupus meds made zero difference with my spot.  Once I got off of the meds, I didn’t know if it would get worse. The fact of the matter was, it didn’t change.

Until this week.  When Lucky and I noticed that for the first time in literally years, IT IS COMPLETELY GONE!!!!!!

After this flare that has lasted a good 6 weeks or so, I needed some encouragement that my diet is actually working. And boy did I get it!  My body is HEALING!  From the inside out.  Healing!  Enough to take that spot/scab away.  I may still have flares and get viruses more often, but something good is going on in there!

So, on to what we are eating this week.  Since it is Gretchen’s cooking week and I have my bean burgers frozen, I am getting an easier week.  One more week ’til our kids are on fall break!  Woohoo!

  • Monday: Gretchen is making these vegan sloppy joes
  • Tuesday: Black bean burgers with broccoli slaw (yay for meals that I have made ahead and frozen!)
  • Wednesday: Big ‘ole pot of crockpot pinto beans with cilantro lime rice and guacamole.
  • Thursday: Leftovers or quesadillas
  • Friday: Eating out!  Yay for a night off of cooking!

What is on your menu?  Link to recipes so we can all get ideas!

 

Psalm 103:1-5

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And all that is within me, bless His holy name.
 Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget none of His benefits;
 Who pardons all your iniquities,
Who heals all your diseases;
Who redeems your life from the pit,
Who crowns you with lovingkindness and compassion;
Who satisfies your years with good things,
So that your youth is renewed like the eagle.

8 Responses to “Huge news about a small spot! (and a meal plan!)”

  1. Gretchen September 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Yay! For encouragement! The Lord certainly know when we need it! Here are our plans for the week.
    Sun- chicken noodle soup. Ben has been begging for it and I had homemade stock in the freezer that needed to be used.
    Mon- the vegan sloppy joes with cole slaw and roasted potatoes. Hopefully this will satisfy some of the comfort food I have been craving.
    Tues-fish tacos I might do black beans instead of fish
    Wed- vegan Mac and cheese trying the vegan cheese powder on your Pinterest with veggies and some hot dogs for the kids
    Thurs- left overs
    Fri- pancakes
    Sat- total diet splurge with are taking the kids with some football friends to big Lou’s for some HUGE pizza.

    • brittluck September 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      That is Jen’s go to “cheese”. Let me know what y’all think!

      • Gretchen September 23, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

        Will do.

  2. addorsett September 23, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    I’m SO happy for you, my friend! You’re right, when you discover/get good news at a time when you’ve been through so many trials, it makes it all the sweeter!!!

    And emerging from a flare is the icing on the (gluten-free) cake! I want to be next in line ~ a certain what-would-I-do-without-him rheumatologist (I think you’re familiar) 🙂 says I’m n a “doozy of a flare,” and doesn’t really have more options for me. I’m a horribly inpatient patient. (But I’m still trying to live my life – I made it to church today for the first time in a long time. And was able to slip on a dress that used to require some serious Spanx – this time, I didn’t even need a slip. No appetite = weight loss., which I consider a consolation prize for being sick.) Always look for the silver lining. And keeping your sense of humor doesn’t hurt. (I know I’m being a bit repetitive about silver linings and weight loss, but that’s a, ahem, big deal for me.)

    Your news puts a smile on my face. And thanks for sharing that Psalm – I’m making a note of it, as it seems written for all of us dealing with chronic illnesses. Oh, I guess it was written for us. 🙂

    • brittluck September 23, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      I pray you are next to have your flare end. 😦 We are are horribly impatient! Go easy on yourself, girl! I am proud of you for getting out there this morning! And woohoo for no Spanx! You are so right, you HAVE to focus on the silver lining. Otherwise, we would be pretty depressing people. I see Dr. W bright and early tomorrow morning. 🙂 I’ll tell him we have become friends.

  3. Dana McKenna September 24, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Monday-veg burger for us, pesto turkey burgers for kids, steamed broccoli. This may sound ordinary, but it is my kids favorite dinner each week, although the frozen pizza they hardly ever get may rank higher this week.

    Tuesday- crispy breaded tofu strips, sweet potato fries, spinach chips

    Wednesday- going to cooking class at Green, kids will have frozen pizza w babysitter

    Thursday- kale salad, black eyed pea salad, roasted acorn squash

    Friday-???

    Glad to hear your good news friend!!!

    • brittluck September 24, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      Maybe we need to come up with a pesto vegan burger!! Hmmm…maybe a white bean with pesto?

      • Dana McKenna September 24, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

        Sounds great!! Pesto is one of the few non-vegan foods that i like to steal a taste of.

Leave a Reply

