Same song, second verse. And meal planning!

16 Sep

I almost didn’t blog today because I don’t want to sound like I am complaining.  But this flare continues, as does the residual arthritis from 5th disease (a virus).  I of course get out and do things, but the moment I walk in the door I crash.  I am hardly out of bed.  YUCK.  My body just aches and aches.  I took prednisone again this past week and it took the arthritis away completely.  Now that Luck is back in town, I went off of it again.

I REFUSE to depend on that drug.  It is toxic to the body.

I go back to discuss all of this with my rheumy on Wednesday to figure out where to go from here and to have labs drawn.  Lets all just pray that by the time I go, this will all be cleared up.  That sounds quite nice, doesn’t it?

Meal planning is kinda puny still.  Last week, Lucky was traveling.  That is why it was so sad!  But I have to admit this is only a notch better.  Physically I am no better than I was last week.  But at least I have my hubs to help with the kids.

Either way, we gotta eat!

  • Monday: This is kind of a random meal, but I am looking forward to it. Nutritious Eat’s Tomato soup (made gluten free and with veg broth to make it vegan), Pioneer Woman’s Chipotle and Lime Roasted Potatoes, and some cucumbers that I am marinating in lime juice and chili powder.  Cooking for us and the Hokensons.
  • Tuesday: Leftover vegan Romanian sarmale (cabbage stuffed with rice in a tomato bouillon) made by a sweet friend.  HERE is her  non vegan version. Here is what she wrote about adapting it for us:  I cooked the rice in water (no stock) with EVOO, garlic, green onion, S&P, parsley and tomato bouillon. I stuffed each cabbage leaf with the rice and rolled it like an egg roll, poured a little more bouillon over the rolls and baked it in a pan at 300 until the cabbage was tender.
  • Wednesday: Man this is a tough night of the week for us!  All 4 of us have somewhere to be!  I teach my 2 classes, Dani has ballet, and the Luck and Reid have karate.  Dinner will probably be bean and cheese tostadas with the fixins.
  • Thursday: Spaghetti and marina (from a jar)  and roasted broccoli.  This was on the menu last week, but we didn’t eat it.
  • Friday: Homemade pizza.  All week long we all look forward to our pizza night where we watch America’s Funniest Videos and the kids get to drink their one carbonated drink of the week (root beer with cane sugar…I’m so mean, they have to share a can!) and wine for us.  Such a relaxing and wonderful way to wind down our week.

So what are YOUR go-to meals for nights when everyone has somewhere to be?  Ours seem to be: Tostadas, vegan grilled cheese, egg in the holes, and quesadillas.  I would LOVE more ideas!!!  And please, share what you are eating for the week.  Look, I am only actually cooking from scratch once this week.  I promise you don’t need to be a chef to do this!

15 Responses to “Same song, second verse. And meal planning!”

  1. Amy D/ September 16, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    Brittany –
    I’ve been wanting to email you, as I, too am at the mercy of a seemingly merciless flare, complete with punishing temperature spikes. (You have more patience than me, for though I see our rheumy every four weeks, I bug him with email more frequently, especially when a flare’s trying to take me hostage.)
    I apologize for whining to him…heck, I apologize to whining to my family and friends – ’cause that’s what it feels like I’m doing. A lot of. (At least at the moment.)
    And, like you, it’s the fevers that are my absolute least tolerable symptom. And, also like you, I try to make believe like I”m doing OK (if you look at my FB post today, you’ll see I was able to attend the Food Bank’s annual brunch). But what I didn’t include is the fact that not only did I not eat from any of the many restaurant stations, but I missed most of the program, as I over-heated in the ballroom. (I suppose the silver lining is between no appetite and sweating, the scale’s going in the direction I’d like it to.)
    By mid-afternoon, when my fevers get going, I have to abandon my normal-person ruse. For one, I don’t think normal people take cooling showers a couple of times a day. Nor at 3 a.m. (as I did recently).
    And I hate to feel like I’m whining, but I can’t imagine it comes across any other way to others.
    Thank you for being honest and candid in your blog postings. I know I’m not alone, but especially right now, it seems we’re in the same boat.
    Perhaps if we both have some energy at the same time, we could manage a phone call. I promise I won’t think you’re whining.
    🙂
    Amy

    • brittluck September 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      Amy, you are so strong! I think your flare is probably a lot more extreme than mine and sounds like how mine used to be. I would also be emailing Dr. W more if I were you. (I am actually glad to hear I am not the only one who emails him!) Oh, I don’t miss overheating and needing to take cooling showers. So miserable. Don’t you want to just scream at your body, “STOP ATTACKING YOURSELF! WHY ARE YOU SO STUPID?!?!?!” Ha! Gotta laugh or else we’d cry! I will email you back. Thanks for visiting the blog!! 🙂

  2. Gretchen September 16, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Sorry that you are still feeling cruddy friend! We are simple this week also. Ready for our lives to return with the end of football.

    Sun- Swedish pancakes
    Mon- soup etc.
    Tues- quinoa and black bean tacos
    Wed- either veggie stirfry or a healthier veggie fried rice or spring rolls ( I have left over rice to use up some how:))
    Thurs-paninis
    Fri- pizza night
    Sat- leftovers

    Our go to meals are pancakes, paninis, baked potatoes, tostadas

  3. meredithmoza September 16, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    So glad y’all liked the sarmale!!! I found an old recipe from my blog and put it on your facebook page. Have you ever had tacos huerfanitos? It’s a take on tostados, but a soft taco with beans, cabbage, avocado, tomato, cilantro and salsa. You could omit the cheese. I’ve eaten them at La Fogata. Just a little change to your menu. I hope your appt gives you some great answers! Enjoy the salsa.

    • brittluck September 16, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      I changed the post so that your link is on the sarmale! And NO! Why don’t I know of these tacos? I am going to google them right now. Thank you!! You know I am supposed to eat cabbage and all of the crucifers at every meal, right? You are hooking me up with the cabbage!

  4. Dana September 17, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Monday- Eggplant and Zuchinni casserole, kinds like lasagna, from oh she glows
    Tuesday- roasted veggies- cauliflower, beets, eggplant, sweet potatoes, anything else in my fridge
    Wednesday- black bean burgers and steamed broccoli
    Thursday- Vegan tortilla soup from oh she glows, i have to start somewhere with new set of go to soup recipes.
    Friday- Fajitas
    our go to meals- large tray of roasted veggies with baked potatoes or left over quinoa or rice, bean or veggie burgers from the freezer, premade soup

    • brittluck September 17, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Let me know how that tortilla soup is! I’d love to try making those chips from brown rice tortillas. How was your eggplant zucchini casserole?

      • Dana McKenna September 17, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

        The casserole was good. Prep time was reasonable. Something that can be made earlier in the day & thrown into the oven in the late afternoon to cook for dinnertime.

      • Dana McKenna September 24, 2012 at 11:24 am #

        The vegan tortilla soup from Oh She Glows was pretty good. But nothing holds a candle to your Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup. Oh well, that was another life. 😉

      • brittluck September 24, 2012 at 11:40 am #

        I know, Dana! I SO miss that recipe! You know what…I will be on a mission to recreate that vegan. It surely can be done!

      • Dana McKenna September 24, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

        Let me know if you are ever sucessful.

  5. emascorro September 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    You continue to be an inspiration! God is using you greatly!! I am blessed to know you lift me up in spirit to our Lord. :). Meals around here have been pretty awful. Last minute planning and go to baked fish, pasta and no thinking required eating! :D. This week I hope to do better. Again, it’s all about the planning. Tonight is arroz con pollo. I’m having quinoa salad. Going shopping tomorrow. :). Love you!

    • brittluck September 17, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      Yep…making a plan makes all of the difference in the world! Are you on pinterest? I can’t remember? Go there for inspiration!

  6. Erika Garza October 24, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I’m so glad Allison suggested I friend you. I also am venturing toward a plant based diet due to illness. I’ve managed to get off one medication, weaning myself off another and one more to go. Regarding the diet, it’s been hard letting go of eggs but I’m up for the challenge and learning a lot. It’s truly inspiring that you are overcoming lupus with a plant based diet. You rock!!!

    • brittluck October 24, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      I am so glad you stopped by!! I am sorry you are also struggling with an illness. It stinks, doesn’t it? I made it off of 5 meds in one year….so keep going! You will feel better! Please keep me posted on how you are doing, ok?

Leave a Reply

