Mini juice fast and a meal plan.

26 Aug

This week, I have dipped back into a flare.  Fevers are back and higher than normal.  Lots of abnormal fatigue that has caused me to stay in bed more than what I had been doing. And other symptoms.  Y’all don’t want or need to know the specifics…just documenting that I am in a flare.

Today, I am starting a juice fast.  Probably just today because tomorrow is Monday and I teach twice.  Can’t really juice fast during boot camp and Body Pump.  Nowadays, a lot of people are calling smoothie fasts juice fasts.  I am not doing smoothies today.  I am JUST juicing.  If you don’t know the difference, smoothies take the entire fruit/veg and blend it up.  You get all of that good fiber and everything.  With juice, you send it through a juicer and ONLY the liquid comes out.  I am doing this to give my digestive system a whole day off.  I will get all of those super fresh nutrients going straight into my blood stream.  Tomorrow, my plan is to juice/smoothie fast until dinner, giving me a full 48 hours of not eating real food.

I wish I had a few more days to do this.  I have toyed with the idea of juice fasting for a day or two on a regularly scheduled interval.  But life happens and it hasn’t really worked out.  If you want to join me, let me know!

Now, on to the meal plan for the week!

  • Monday: Making Aarti Sequeira’s (Don’t you just LOVE her?  I want to be her friend!!) Chana Masala or Chickpea Curry.  Both names work, according to her. I am serving it with brown basmati rice and a green salad.  Cooking for us and Hokensons.  I love this dish and have made it before.  It required me going to an Indian market and stocking up on all of the correct spices.  But once I did that initially, now I can make this quickly and easily.
  • Tuesday: Mashed new potatoes with roasted carrots and cauliflower.
  • Wednesday: My dad’s 60th birthday!!!!!!  We will eat together as a family.
  • Thursday: Vegan quesadillas.  Cheese on the kid’s and Luck’s.
  • Friday: What else? Homemade pizza night.

What is on your menu for the week?  Share links and ideas so we can all be inspired!  Here’s to a healthy week!

 

 

7 Responses to “Mini juice fast and a meal plan.”

  1. Gretchen August 26, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Sorry you are in a flare, praying you feel better soon…
    Here are our plans for the week.

    Sunday- pizza got bumped from Friday
    Mon- your curry, and just looked at the recipe and I am very excited to try it.
    Tues-blt’s some veggie sandwich for me
    Wed- spring rolls
    Thurs- pizza again or maybe out, we have a groupon fixing to expire.
    Sat- a crock pot potato soup.

    • brittluck August 26, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      Have you made the crockpot potato soup before? Sounds good. So do the spring rolls. I may make those next week. Have you ever put mango in them? SO good!

  2. Dana August 26, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Sunday- burrito bowls w/ cuban black beans, cilantro lime rice, guac, pico, lettuce, etc
    Monday- quinoa salad w/ red pepper, avocado, slivered almonds & melanie’s sauteed kale
    Tueday- roasted cauliflower, shredded brussell sprouts w/ craisins & pecans, baked sweet potatoes
    Wednesday- GF, Vegan cooking class at Green Vegetarian, kids-?
    Thursday- bean burgers, broccoli, new potatoes
    Friday- quesadillas
    Saturday- veggie burger on the grill, asian slaw, sugar snap pea salad
    Sunday- 1st time to eat dinner at Whole Foods in Austin, i am soooo excited

    • brittluck August 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

      Quinoa salad sounds yummy! I am impressed with how elaborate every night is! I wanna live in your house!

      • Dana McKenna August 26, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

        I guess i am an over achiever for the first week of school. Many of the things are simple, but sounds fancy. Thats how i like to cook. Most of our extra curricular activites dont start till after labor day. Then things will get more simple. Quinoa is a new recipe from krysta’s life in food, recipe calls for pine nuts but i am using almonds bc that is what i have. I will be praying for you this week sweet friend.

    • brittluck August 26, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Dana, you need to get on Pinterest, girl! That way we can all share recipes. Maybe you are on and I just don’t know it?

      • Dana August 26, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

        nope. not on it yet. that is one of my new (school) year’s resolutions.

Leave a Reply

