Back to school food prep!

18 Aug

How do you get ready for back to school?  Here are a few things I do:

  • I buy several loaves of bread and lots of pb &j.  I make as many sandwiches as I can handle and put them in a gallon freezer bags.  This makes making lunches a lot faster!  Now if you eat gluten free, you KNOW that the bread just isn’t that great.  We have found that thawing sandwiches in the lunchbox keeps them as fresh as you are going to get.  And Little Aussie Bakery bread (sorry, if you don’t live in SA) is the best gf vegan bread around.  My HEB sells it!  WOOOHOOO!  Otherwise, make a trip and stock up your freezer. (And let’s all pause for a moment of REJOICING that our school is no longer peanut free!  Almond butter just isn’t the same!)

  • I am going to make a big batch of these gluten free, vegan  chocolate chip flax muffins and store them in the freezer for quick breakfasts.

  • I am also making some of these energy bites for the kids for after school snacks before ballet/karate.  They are not health food, but they are filling and super yummy.  We use the flaxseeds.  And the chocolate chips are NOT optional around these parts (as in, a revolt would take place if they were not in there!).  🙂

  • I made black bean burgers this week.  I made a gigantic batch.  We ate a third of that batch and froze 2 full meals worth of more, uncooked patties. All I will have to do when we need a quick meal is thaw these and bake for 30 minutes.  Nice!

  • I also stock up on snacks for the kids’ lunches/snacks at school.  Usually in their snack bag, the kids get a mix of shelled pistachios and dried fruit or just plain pistachios.  Sometimes they will get gf pretzels, but those really have no nutritional value to me.  Honestly, they don’t love snacking on nuts.  But at school, they are hungry enough and don’t have me to complain to!  So they end up eating them.  I think it is just hard to find something that isn’t too low in calories (fruit/carrots) and won’t fill them up, or junk in nature (store bought granola bars).  So this is where we tend to go.  They do get special treats every once in a while and their favorite granola bars from the store DO make it in my cart (I have some in the pantry right now!  They may be organic,but they are still junk!).  They have requested sweetened pecans, so I am going to try to find a good recipe that will make both mom and kids happy.

  • We also load up on Larabars.  I am convinced this should be a staple for all gluten free and/or vegan households.  When you don’t have time or aren’t in the mood to make a sandwich, this is just a great go-t0!  It also stands in as the main “dish” in the lunchbox if they are needing a break from pb&j’s.  It is a super filling breakfast, as well.  And the Daddy of the house loves these.  Our household favorites are chocolate chip cookie dough, cashew cookie, peanut butter and jelly, peanut butter cookie, and more.  If you have never had them, they are primarily dates and nuts.  No added sugars, no flours, just fruits and nuts (and chocolate chips, if that is a flavor you like).  I honestly don’t eat them very often.  But Luck and Dani are big fans.

So what are YOUR tips for getting ready for packing lunches/getting in the swing of school?  I know we only go 2 days a week, but it still takes prep time and planning ahead.    I would LOVE your ideas!

3 Responses to “Back to school food prep!”

  1. Courtney August 19, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Inara has never been, and still isn’t, a big sandwich eatter. So lunch planning has been the biggest stress point in planning to send her off to Kinder five days a week. I sat down last week and dug through my recipes and pinterest to find what would work. I do plan to make/freezer both some pb&j and ham sandwiches, but for the most part I went with a lot of “pocket” sandwiches comprised of either pie crust, pizza dough, or crescent rolls filled with various fillings (ham & cheese, pizza, taco etc). I’m also working on various breakfast muffins and some premade egg sandwiches, thankfully the chickens complied with my request for more eggs to allow that.

    • brittluck August 19, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      So nice of those chickens!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pressing on… - August 18, 2012

    […] This will be quick since I just blogged the back to school ideas! […]

Leave a Reply

