Refreshment! (and a meal plan)

12 Aug

Have you discovered sparkling water?  Not the sweet stuff or the artificially sweet stuff.  Just straight up, naturally flavored, unsweetened and not mucked up by colors, fizzy goodness.  I love it!  I hadn’t had a bubbly drink in so long!  I bid my diet drinks goodbye 2 years ago (well, 5 years ago, but honestly the fatigue of undiagnosed Lupus caused me to live on an IV of caffeine and so I gave back in for a few years) for good.  I miss bubbly, fizzy, happy drinks.  Then a few months ago, my friend Kimberly and my friend Jennifer both separately told me about how much they love sparkling water.  And both of them are super healthy.  So I tried it!  I tried plain, I tried orange, I tried lemon, lime, berry, and every other one I could get my hands on. I love them all!!  It makes me so happy when I am running out the door and want a fun drink instead of plain old water.  (does this sound weird that a drink is fun?  because it IS!  try one and tell me if your mouth doesn’t do a little dance!)

So on to meal planning….

Monday:Vegan Lasagna with a green salad. I am going to modify it and I will blog it, if it is a keeper.  This one if for us and the Hokensons.  I am praying our kids eat it.   This is a busy and stressful week, so I actually made them today and will bake them off tomorrow.

Tuesday: Red beans and (brown) rice with watermelon.

Wednesday: Bean Burgers on gf buns with lettuce, tomato, and cheese for the kids and Luck.  I love these because I can prep them and put them on a cookie sheet in the oven.  If I am teaching, the kids just have to turn the oven on when Luck is on his way home. Then when he gets home, dinner is hot and ready to go for them!

Thursday: Leftovers!

Friday: Luck had to leave last week and was gone all weekend for work.  Because of that, we didn’t get our pizza night out at Little Aussie Bakery.  SO looking forward to this!

Saturday:  End of summer block party and we are bringing this black eyed pea salad, only reducing the oil/dressing by a lot and serving as a side dish/salad and not a salsa.   My sweet friend, Kate, made this a few weeks ago and I can’t stop thinking about it!!!!

Have a happy last week of summer vacation!  We have tons of training this week and meet the teacher type stuff going on.  The kids’ new lunch boxes are on their way (thanks, Ines).  Our homeschool room is ready (thanks, Michelle).  I have bought all of the school supplies.  And this all leaves my mind unable to stop thinking about school lunches/breakfasts!  I will blog later this week on back to school ideas!  Be thinking because I’d love to hear YOUR ideas on making back to school more smooth!

But for now….what are YOU planning to eat this week?  Share!

21 Responses to “Refreshment! (and a meal plan)”

  1. Gretchen August 12, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Sun-out to eat we are headed for a college reunion in Austin. The kids are with gma.
    Mon-your lasagna:)
    Tues-a baked spinach falafel with the cashew tzatzaki
    Wed-grilled veggie salad
    Thurs-leftovers
    Fri-pizza night so excited to have and oven again!
    Sat- a white bean chili recipe for the crockpot with cornbread
    I am also going to try some new granola bar / snack recipes to try out the new oven:)

    • Gretchen August 12, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Also what brand sparkling water do you drink. I love the stuff. I have started back with the soda and need to get a good substitute.

      • brittluck August 12, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

        I love La Croix the most, but also love the HEB brand. The berry one is the one I am drinking now and love, love, love.

    • Dana McKenna August 12, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

      Hey Gretchen. I would like to know more about your Tuesday dinner. Sounds delicious. Have you made it before? I would love the recipe.
      -Dana

      • brittluck August 12, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

        Dana, do you follow me and Gretchen on Pinterest? If not, we pin a ton of recipes that your sweet family can eat! 🙂 I have one that is “recipes I love” and one that is “Recipes I want to try.”

      • Gretchen August 12, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

        I will email you the link Dana if we like them. We haven’t tried them yet. We have domes the cashew tzatzaki and it is amazing!

    • brittluck August 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      TOO FUNNY~ I was going to make those falafel this week, but decided to wait! I almost made them for you but thought y’all might be burnt out on Greek! Bummer bc they sound delicious!

  2. Meredith August 12, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Oh now I’m curious. What lunch boxes did you get? And a block party, how fun. I’ve tried the HEB orange sparkling water. Yum! After living in RO, I got hooked.

    • brittluck August 12, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      I got the Mother of all lunchboxes!!!!! http://www.planetbox.com/ I just had so many things I wanted from a lunch box and the kids needed more food than the little ones held. I knew that this would be the last lunchbox I would buy, if we went with it, at least for a LONG, LONG time. Luck’s mom wanted to get them something for back to school. The kids are thrilled and can’t wait, which is SO funny for a lunch box! I love all of the little compartments for bento style lunches and love that it fits an entire sandwich. Most bentos don’t. And gluten free bread dries out easily, so cutting it wasn’t an option to fit it in a smaller compartment. This one also has an ice pack made to go with it. And it is stainless steel! Now I will be scouring your blog to get cute ideas! Thanks for all of your help!

      • Meredith August 12, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

        Fun! Did you get the magnet sets for them? I’m looking at those too. Nice splurge!

  3. Dana McKenna August 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    Busy week, so I have some, but not all, meals planned.
    Veggie burgres, Melanie’s kale, baked sweet potatoes
    Taco salad with taco flavored roasted chickpeas
    Hummus and veggie wraps on brown rice tortillas
    ???

    • brittluck August 12, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      I did taco flavored chick peas for taco night one night! Let me know how yours turn out.

      • Gretchen August 13, 2012 at 7:53 am #

        Dana I love the idea of the chickpeas in a salad.

  4. complicatedfabulous August 12, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    I can totally relate to the over-caffienation before diagnosis! we love la croix water- our favorite is the pamplemousse! 🙂

    • brittluck August 13, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      I’ve never seen that one, but will be on the lookout! I used to try and hide all of the caffeine I had to consume to stay, “normal.” Now I don’t drink caffeine and understand that when I am tired, I should SLEEP! How are you feeling?

  5. Kate August 13, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    I made the black eyed pea salsa again this weekend. I didn’t think he would but Matt loves it.

    Meal Plan-

    Monday- Skillet Cilantro and Lime Fish Tacos, with cabbage slaw, cherry tomatoes and carrots sticks for the kids
    http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2012/08/skillet-cilantro-and-lime-fish-tacos.html

    Tuesday- Black Bean & Sweet Potato Enchiladas, green salad with black bean and corn salsa, roasted broccoli or cauliflower

    Wednesday- leftovers

    Thursday- Egg Salad with Capers, kids will probably have ham sandwiches

    Friday- quesadillas or baked potatoes, something easy. will be getting ready for B’s birthday the next day 🙂

    • brittluck August 13, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Kate, those fish tacos make me want to jump ship! YUM! How do you have the energy to cook those big meals? I am impressed with your very pregnant self. 🙂

  6. Lory August 13, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Its funny you talk about sparkling water. It takes me back to our visit to Switzerland where that is the standard water they serve. (not flavored though.) I am not a big fan of carbonated drinks and for some reason we seemed to be suffering from stomach discomfort attributed to that so we had to ask for “No gas” water! LOL I DO enjoy infused water –not sweetened and not fizzy–but that is great that you have found a great alternative that you love!

    • brittluck August 13, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      My first exposure was traveling to South America. On the airplane the stewardess asked me, “aqua con gas, o aqua sin gas?” (pardon my probably poor Spanish spelling) I just stared at her! I had no idea what she was talking about! I ended up trying it and hating it. And because of that I have avoided it for years. Until this summer! 🙂

  7. Julia August 17, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    I’m a sparkling water ADDICT. I down up to 4 cans a day (yikes!) I am a recovering diet soda drinker myself….every now and then my desire for Coke Zero overtakes me….but I can honestly say I’m not addicted to it anymore. I usually do the HEB brand ’cause its cheaper. I love lime!

    • brittluck August 17, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      With the rate you drink it, you should look in to one of those countertop carbonated water makers! However, I think you lose the benefits of naturally occuring sparkling water in it’s alkalinity/acidity? I SO need to do some research in this area!

Leave a Reply

