Perspective and a meal plan.

6 Aug

Meal plan for the week:

Monday: My black bean and quinoa tacos, made by the lovely Gretchen, with all of the fixins and watermelon.  Mine on brown rice tortilla.

Tuesday: Roasted Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, and zucchini over brown rice with vegan rose sauce.  I know those veggies don’t go well together, but I want the kids to eat them and they are all ones I haven’t served in a while.

Wednesday: Leftover tacos (Woohoo!)

Thursday: Homemade marinara over spaghetti squash and served with roasted broccoli.

Friday: Going out for gf pizza!  I have a Groupon I am excited to use.  🙂  Everything at Little Aussie Bakery is gluten free and their bread/crust is vegan, as well.

Yesterday, we had the honor of serving at Church Under the Bridge.  I had no idea of what to expect.  And I don’t even have words for it. Except that I want to go back.  I think the kids learned more last night than we could teach them in a lifetime of talking about the homeless.  What struck us more than anything was that these were people just like us.  Moms, dads, kids, brothers, and sisters.  They were grateful and sweet and happy. Their lives are harder than I could ever imagine.  And yet they sat in the service singing with all of their might to God Almighty, thanking Him for what they HAVE! It was so moving.  The whole time I thought of  Same Kind of Different as Me.  If you haven’t read that book, DO!!!!!  It is one of the best books I have ever read.    Anyway, I realize this isn’t about Lupus or being gluten free.  But though we were all hungry, there wasn’t a moment any of us wanted to even think about that fact or being tired or anything.  We were smelling and handling hot pizza that 3 of us knew we could never eat…but it didn’t tempt us because there were so many truly hungry people. We were humbled, HUMBLED that we could hand out food and drinks to those that need it most.  We didn’t pay for the food, we didn’t provide the kitchen, we didn’t do anything except show up and get blessed.

I almost didn’t share this because I have zero desire to give us props.  I wanted to keep it a secret.  But sometimes it just takes hearing of people doing these things with their families that can spur them on to do it, as well.  There are so many people with real problems that just need a helping hand or hug or dollar or WHATEVER!  I spend my LIFE in my bubble.  Thinking of my burdens and my problems and me, me, me!!!!  I hate that. I want out, Luck wants out, and we want the kids out. We want them serving the homeless and seeing how freaking BLESSED we are and how we have a responsibility to do something with those blessings.

7 Responses to “Perspective and a meal plan.”

  1. meredithmoza August 6, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Did you know that Alon has Aussie Bakery items now? pizza crust, bread and cookies…

    • brittluck August 6, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      Yep! They were out of their bread today! BOO!!! Thank you. I like eating there bc they will make me a vegan pizza and serve vegan garlic bread and give you free wine on Friday nights! A tri-fecta!

    • meredithmoza August 6, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      and now after reading the perspective part, I get it…my priorities changed so much after living in Romania…it’s not what I have to have, it’s what I can live without…good read.

  2. Gretchen August 7, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    So glad you all had an amazing experience. Our church does outbound out reaches geared for families we are praying the next one works in our schedule, or it is something we can make work. The last one was cancelled due to a funeral for one of the Colorado shooting victims. I would love to discuss doing something as our little families sometime.

    Anyway, here is our meal plan for the week. The factors to include are football EVERY night of the week, and STILL no oven.

    Sunday- grill out at the pool for the kids party.
    Monday- back bean and quinoa tacos
    Tues- I was hoping to have leftover from the party but little is left. We have a veggie tray so we are going to do veggies and hummus and fresh fruit.
    Wed- we are going out for Madi’s birthday unsure where, can’t believe the girl is 4!
    Thurs- finally hopefully burrito bowl with crock pot beans
    Fri- scrambled eggs and tofu scramble for me
    Sat- pizza if we have an oven or crockpot baked potatoes if we don’t

  3. Patti Grossman August 7, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I have read that book and it is a good one. I, too, have served under the bridge. Me thinks it should be a requirement for every MS and HS kid–anything to show that real life is like beyond our bubbles! Also read “Living Under the Overpass”–Steve Troxel recommended it years ago and I went out and bought it.

  4. Beth Jones August 7, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Hey Brittany…..I following you on your blog…..still trying to get my nerve up….I’m going to do it…..just getting my nerve…..ha!
    Beth Jones

    • brittluck August 7, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      You can do it!!!! So glad you are on the blog! Let me know when you take the plunge!

Leave a Reply

