Need to shed a few lbs???

16 Jul

Me, too.  Every single flare I have ever had has caused me to gain weight.  What is so annoying is that most people have unexpected weight LOSS during flares!    Not me.  So now that I finally feel that the 2 month flare has ended (phew!), I am ready to lose those extra pounds.  And let me tell you, I DON’T WANT TO!  But I should because my body will be it’s healthiest when I am at my healthiest weight.  So here I go.

Do you need to?  Want to join me?  Here is my plan of attack:

1) I will write EVERYTHING down that I eat.  No exceptions, no excuses.

2) I am cutting out all processed foods.  I will still eat hummus, if you consider that processed, and brown rice pasta, etc… But I am not going to let myself eat chips (yep, potato chips are vegan!) or other processed foods.

3) I am cutting out sugar again.  I will eventually add some back in for occasional treats.  But lately, I have just relaxed too much.

No rocket science there.  Just simple steps. I have recently heard from some people who want to get on board with healthy eating and don’t know how.  Start here.  Join me!  I LOVE company!  Write it in the comments, send me a private message, post it on Facebook…whatever! Just let me know.

9 Responses to “Need to shed a few lbs???”

  1. Gretchen July 16, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Check out my fittness pal I love it when I am journalist my food!

    • Gretchen July 16, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Sorry journaling my food.

      • brittluck July 16, 2012 at 11:32 am #

        Thanks, I will check it out!

  2. Christie Markert July 16, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I’m with you Brittany. I still have a little bit to lose, and I have lost my mojo since my last juice fast. Want to start again and work hard until my husband and I take a mini-vacation next week.

    • brittluck July 16, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      Do it with me!!! We can even share our food journals, if that will help! How is your RA these days? Has your diet helped?

  3. emascorro July 16, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    I’m in. Sistah!! 1 month with this broken toe and I’ve given myself license to eat HORRIBLY!! that doesn’t even make sense?! 😦 I can’t believe how I’ve allowed my inability to exercise at 100% completely throw me off my game. i gained 3 pounds in one month! YIKES! it scares me to think about that calorie input… but, I’m done as well. funny thing is, I have decided to lay off my toe completely other than Pilahhtes or biking. and I”m gonna challenge myself to get through this inwith the smarts God gave me and His help of course. My desire is to lose another 12 pounds and get healthy for the half. It makes me cry to think I could potentially not be healthy enough to do it. I’ve been dealing with me second oldest son and submission, surrender and selfishness and priorities!1 Well, if I wasn’t calling the kettle black?! I’m thankful for God’s grace and mercy and pray it is His will to get me to that race, glorify Him and run for Sara! sorry so long, but I know i can come here and give my heart with love… :)) love you, Brittany always praying for you

    • brittluck July 16, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      So glad you replied!! Yes, lets do this together! I am sure that my flare is not just some physical phenomenon causing me to gain weight. I think I probably feel sorry for myself and EAT MORE!!! The reasons we eat more are silly. Either way, we are turning things around. And you just keep focusing on being healthy and healing that toe. This is not the only race in the world or even this year. You can run for Sara when your body says it is time. Still aim for November, but remember, God’s timing is perfect. Love you!

  4. Kara Yee July 16, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    I’m in!
    Like you (& I just copied & pasted, with a few exceptions, to make it simple!):
    1) I will write everything down!
    2) I am cutting out all processed foods. I will still eat hummus, if you consider that processed, and brown rice pasta, etc… But I am not going to let myself eat chips (yep, potato chips are vegan!) or other processed foods.
    3) I am cutting out sugar. But I will allow myself to have a decaf vanilla soy latte from Starbucks. Not ready to give that up yet, just the other stuff! 🙂

    Thank you for your encouragement and getting me moving! Love you dearly!

    • brittluck July 16, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Kara,try cutting down the amount of syrup. Start by finding how many pumps of vanilla are in your drink. Ask them to put half in. Then move to only one pump. Then try it with none. I actually LOVE the soy cappuccinos (used to get lattes and have been able to move to even less soy milk) and find them quite sweet! Never know til ya try! You may not be able to handle it this way, but at least you will know!

Leave a Reply

