Vegan Alfredo and meal planning!

8 Jul

I ate at the salad bar at camp pretty much every meal.  There were 2 date night meals that were amazing and they made me a grilled portabello with grilled asparagus/green beans and some delicious new potatoes.  But other than that, I ate from the salad bar.  While I am extremely grateful that I got to eat ANYTHING at all, while remaining under my dietary constrictions, (and am doubly grateful that there was always a cruciferous veggie on that salad bar)…I DON’T WANT TO EAT A SALAD FOR A LONG TIME!!!!  So I am eager to meal plan and have so many things I want to make that I can’t narrow it down!  It is fun to feel rejuvinated to cook again! And quite honestly, the kids tasted gluten free foods from someone else’s kitchen and didn’t like it all that much.  This encouraged me that even though they don’t love my vegan foods…they like it better than other people’s gluten free foods!

Our meal plan for the week:

Sunday: Potato and Pea Coconut curry over rice  Nevermind! Too tired and didn’t make it to HEB.  We are having vegan quesadillas instead and laying low.

Monday: Gretchen’s Spring rolls on rice paper!

Tuesday: Spanish brown rice with my black beans, avocado, and broccoli slaw.

Wednesday:  Pesto, pasta, and peas (and pine nuts!).  A recipe I adapted from Ina Gartin that we LOVE.  This week I am working on getting it to have less oil.  I will post if it is good!

Thursday: leftovers

Friday: Thai pizza

Saturday: A wedding (bride is gluten free)!

Last week, I made a Fettuccine Alfredo with roasted broccoli dish.  Having something so comforting is such a treat!  This is a very, very filling meal and a little but goes a long ways.  I don’t love all of the ingredients in this.  I wish it called for potatoes and not potato flakes.  I much prefer to eat veggies in their natural state.  And I am not a big fan of soy, but a little soy creamer won’t hurt us. I modified a recipe from babble.com.  Last time I made it, Reid ate his whole bowl.  This time, Dani did.  You just never know with them and have to keep trying!



Alfredo and Roasted Broccoli Fettucini

Large bag of frozen broccoli

6 garlic cloves, peeled

1/2 sweet onion, sliced

2 cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

4 Tbsp vegan mayo

1 1/3 cup dehydrated potato flakes (only ingredient: potatoes)

1 1/3 cup almond milk

1 1/2 cup soy creamer

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (I use Bragg’s)

4-6 Tbsp nutritional yeast flakes

A few dashes of cayenne powder

1/2 tsp fresh black pepper

Kosher salt, to taste

1 box gluten free fettuccini

1) Preheat the oven to 425.  Place broccoli on the pan and on the side, place the onions and garlic.  Don’t mix the broccoli in.  You may toss some olive oil and salt and pepper over the veggies and toss, if you desire. (If you are avoiding oil, then you can just skip that.  We  do use some oil.  The kids eat broccoli very well with some oil and yet won’t touch it without!  So I compromise and add some, as well as salt and pepper.) Start roasting those veggies and keep an eye on them for number 3 below.

2) Meanwhile, cook the pasta.

3) Roast the veggies until the onions and garlic are soft and browning some.  Remove them and continue roasting the broccoli until it is done.

4) While those are cooking away, grab your power blender (Vitamix) or a food processor, put in the roasted garlic and onions,  and add all of the remaining ingredients.  Blend away!  Taste, season.  Taste, season.  Make it taste like you like it!

5) When the pasta is cooked and drained, the broccoli is starting to brown and looks perfect, and the sauce tastes like you want it to, toss it all together!  You may not want to use the entire thing of sauce.  Just add about half, add all of the broccoli, and then taste and see if it needs more sauce.  I kept a few pieces of broccoli out bc the kids like it so much plain.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

