Our sweet girl got baptized!

8 Jul

We just returned from our favorite week of the year: FAMILY CAMP!  I have heard from many of you that it would not be a vacation for you to be hot and sweaty and a little dirty all week.  But for us, it is perfect!  We got to zip line, climb the rock wall (or miserably fail for the 5th time), wake board, ride horses (adults even got to do a breakfast trail ride), rope swing into the lagoon, slide into water, learn together, sing and worship together, pray together, hear some awesome teachings, watch our own private fireworks show, have date nights/kids crazy nights, play a night time game of Operation Infiltration, play pickleball, NAP!!! (me), play Foosball, eat dessert every night, laugh together, dress up like fools together, and make a ton of memories.  I’ve said it before and I will say it again:  it is the reason I have a job.  It is worth almost every penny I make.  I don’t get to spend my work money on clothes or other such items. But we get to go to Family Camp (and our house gets cleaned)!!!!

With Lupus, and especially my particular version of the disease, I have to avoid the sun.  This makes all of the above activities a little challenging. However, companies like Coolibar and Athleta carry clothes that are UV protective.  At all times at camp, I was sunscreened, wearing a hat, carrying an umbrella, and covered in the UPF rated clothing.  I may have looked silly, but I was there!  In the lagoon, I have a long sleeve, high neck shirt that I wear and had a big hat tightly secured to my head.  Sorry, I am too prideful I guess to have any pics taken of me like that!

Our favorite spot. There is a swing right here where Luck and I like to start our day, sans kids. We get to pray together and talk about whatever is on our minds. It feels like we are back in college when we sit here together.

This year, Daniella decided that she wanted to be baptized at camp. Baptism is something we feel should be the decision of our kiddos. We do not believe that their salvation rests on their baptism. And we do not think that our deciding for them is them acting in obedience to Scripture.  Dani has mentioned wanting to get baptized but really, really didn’t like the idea of doing it in a baptismal at church.  We really loved the idea getting baptized in a natural setting. And camp has been a place of such huge spiritual growth, it was just a perfect fit.  So my sweet Luck had the privilege of baptizing her.  It was beautiful!



Even though visitors are not allowed in to camp, my parents were welcomed in for the occasion.

It was a wonderful way to celebrate the 4th of July!

3 Responses to “Our sweet girl got baptized!”

  1. Jillian July 9, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I’m so glad you all had a wonderful time at family camp! And I am so happy for sweet Dani! How special to be baptized at camp by her daddy. That is a memory that you all will hold forever. I can’t wait to talk to you and hear more about your fun week!

  2. Jes July 9, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Reading that made me cry. What an amazing experience for all of you as a family! You are an inspiration!

    • brittluck August 18, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

      Thank you so much, Jes. Such sweet words.

Leave a Reply

