Happy Easter! And a meal plan for the week!

8 Apr

Happy Easter from our family to yours!

Remember that awesome Christmas card photo you got of us this year?  Wait, you don’t?  Hmmmm……  (Am I going to convince Luck to let me buy cards again next year? Probably not.  The pile of them in our side table is not helping my cause.)

Well, I didn’t send them because I want to wait and post a pic of our family for Easter!  Right!?!

Even though it is THE celebration of the year for Christ followers, it is also still a Sunday.  Which for me means the day to get organized for the week.  So here is our meal plan:

Sunday:  What, I need to feed these people dinner?  Oh shoot! Better get on that!  Probably peanut butter in some fashion.  Tonight, I will make my crockpot black beans overnight so that I can save money this week.  The cans are not as healthy and cost a lot more per serving.

Monday: Nutritious Eats Black Bean Burgers  using those beans.  (Luck says we should have these more often.  Weekly even.) I will also make her Spicy Lime Cilantro Slaw without oil and served on the side or on top.  Fruit, as always.

Tuesday: Leftovers from Easter Sunday (shrimp for the family, vegan potatoes for all of us, roasted broccoli and cauliflower)

Wednesday: OH MY!  I will blog this recipe. I am making a quinoa, black bean dish.  So yum!  Making it for us and the Hokensons and our neighbors who just had a baby!

Thursday: Baked potatoes with veggies for me and cheese for the kids.  Luck sometimes does cheese, sometimes doesn’t.

Friday: Pizza night!

Happy Easter, friends!  What are YOU eating this week?  Wanna share a great recipe?  Come on….you know you want to join in!!!!!!

8 Responses to “Happy Easter! And a meal plan for the week!”

  1. Amanda C. Hollis April 8, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh my goodness y’all look wonderful!!! You look amazing as always and I love love love your dress!!!! 🙂

    • brittluck April 8, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Thank you! I literally grabbed it in a few seconds and bought it, not knowing if I liked it! Evidently, I did! 🙂

  2. Christie April 8, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Trying these on Tues.: http://blogs.babble.com/family-kitchen/2011/08/19/sunny-mushroom-nuggets/, but need a new recipe for Thurs. I wanted to try Mama Pea’s Spaghetti Squash Casserole, but apparently one can no longer buy spaghetti squash in Wis.

    • brittluck April 8, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Bummer! We just cooked some yesterday 😦 Those nuggets look good!

  3. Gretchen April 8, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Ok, is that the dress you grabbed the last minute at the Loft? It looks fabulous, glad you grabbed it!
    Here our plans for the week
    Sun- dinner at my mil for our Easter celebration
    Mon- gf butternut squash and kale lasagna from pinterest. Not doin it vegan
    Tues-balsamic roasted Brussels sprouts with vegan polenta
    Wed- your quinoa salad
    Thurs- Melanie at nutritious eats greek lemon soup. I think I will do chickpeas instead of chicken to make it vegan
    Fri- pizza night
    Sat- doing your black beans and cilantro lime rice for the karate potluck at noon and baked potatoes for dinner

    • brittluck April 8, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Yes, it is!! I tried it on finally yesterday to see if I liked it! I got a few compliments on how I color blocked…which of course I had no idea of! Thanks 🙂 Let me know how the soup comes out with chickpeas!! Sounds perfect!!! And the lasagna!! I must admit I am a little jealous about that one! Enjoy!

  4. Dana McKenna April 8, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    This will be the first week Peter & I go completly vegan.
    Monday- roasted vegetable Panninis & salad
    Tuesday- quinoa with Brussel Sprouts, sweet onion, and a sprinkle of pine nuts
    Wednesday- melanie’s poblano black bean tacos with her homemade corn tortillas
    Thursday-Leftovers
    Friday- school Carnival (Peter and i will eat salads when we get home)
    Saturday- want to find an Asian tofu recipe to try, never cook tofu before
    Happy Easter!! Love your picture!!

    • brittluck April 9, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      Let me know how your quinoa with Brussels sprouts come out…that dish sounds so good! I loved the terikayi sauce from this recipe. http://www.veggiebelly.com/2011/04/teriyaki-tofu-noodle-bowl.html Just make sure you drain/dry off your tofu well. Wrap it in absorbant towels and press it between heavy things. Let it sit like that for at least an hour. I am still not a huge fan of tofu bc it makes me sick. But I am allergic to it..so it SHOULD make me sick! Ha! Happy veganism!

Leave a Reply

