I forgot…

1 Apr

….my medicine.

No way to speed up getting off of meds like forgetting them for the weekend when you are in the middle of nowhere.

So without meaning to, I have now been off of both my insomnia and depression meds for 2 full days.  I am going to go at one more night of no sleeping pill to see if I can do it.  I had 2 sleepless nights, but it is hard to judge how I did because we were camping.  Our air mattress had a small leak and Daniella spent most of the night literally on TOP of me.  So I have no idea how much of my sleeplesness was due to insomnia and how much was just .

I can tell you very honestly that since coming home from camping, I can really feel the absence of the Lexapro.  I have very high anxiety.  Someone says anything and I feel like my chest is going to burst open.  I can’t explain why, but I have a physiological response to everything.  I basically overreact to everything.  But I am aware that I am not reacting normally and try to reign it in.  Tomorrow I will take a quarter of a pill and do that every other day while not taking any on the other day.  Lucky and I will decide if I need to wean more slowly.  It is so hard to want to be off of something so badly.  And yet my body needs it to be normal.  I really, really hope that this will work.

I am not going to lie…this is not easy.  And camping made me feel pretty rotten.  I have a bunch of symptoms that just popped up today.  Talking is actually hard bc my mouth hurts so badly.  I have a scalp sore that popped up.  I have a headache, stomach probs, total fatigue, and probably fever (can’t find my thermometer).

My menu plan for the week will be SIMPLE.

Sunday: Black bean pasta with an asian dressing and colored peppers

Monday: Gretchen’s pasta

Tuesday: Large salad served with a grilled cheese for the family

Wednesday: Roasted veggies

Thursday: leftovers or bean burritos on romaine

Friday: homemade pizza night

What are YOU making?  Have you ever gotten off of these type meds?

2 Responses to “I forgot…”

  1. Gretchen April 2, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    Hoping last night was more restful:(. Here is our menu.
    Sun- quesadillas Greg and I did vegan turned out pretty good
    Mon- pasta and sauce doubled for you all
    Tues-crockpot burracho beans cilantro lime rice and toppings for buritto bowls
    Wed- spring rolls with left over rice and veggies from othe meals
    Thurs- leftovers
    Fri- pizza
    Sat- baked potatoes in crockpot

  2. Meredith April 2, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    I hope you get rest!! I’ve had imsomnia off and on forever. As in since grade school, so I feel your pain. I continue to pray for you and the decisions you make for your health. Borracho beans sound so good!
    Rice and beans will be on my menu this week. I also have slaw and avocado.

Leave a Reply

