Boerne Cooking Cottage

25 Mar

Well, I had the best time teaching my little cooking class this past week!  It was a very small class…3 people, my mom, and the head chef.  I am so glad to have had the opportunity to have such a small class so that I could get my feet wet without drowning.  We already have another one booked!  It is super fun to have found another side job that allows me to contribute to the family financially, while giving me something that makes me use my brain.  And the bonus is getting to teach people about living healthy lives.  Love it!

Showing them that you truly CAN saute’ in water and don’t need oil!

Kinda funny to have the person who has taught me everything I know about cooking sitting in MY cooking class!  Ha!

This sweet vegetarian has never learned to cook.  It was so rewarding to get to help her learn some basics.

What is a good vegan class without some kale?

I think I finally saw a similarity in us…look at our mouths!  I can finally say I have something that looks like my mom!

Realizing here that we both use the lime press opposite from each other.

Everyone got their hands dirty!  Love that it is a hands on class.

This is the sweet owner, chef Lauren. Sign up for her mailing list so that you can find out about cooking classes. She has camps for kids, classes for adults, couples nights, girls nights, kid’s birthday parties, and SO much more!  Check her out: http://boernecookingcottage.com/

The next vegan class will be in June!

As for my meals this week, I have an easy week planned. I am trying to use up what we have…so it is kind of starch heavy.

Sunday: Crockpot pinto beans

Monday: Gretchen’s pasta

Tuesday: Mashed cauliflower/potatoes with peas and asparagus (didn’t get to make last week)

Wednesday: Roasted Brussel’s sprouts, new potatoes, red peppers, and onions (also didn’t get to that one last week)

Thursday: Salad and leftovers

Friday: Sunday: Will report on THAT next week 😉

6 Responses to “Boerne Cooking Cottage”

  1. Julie March 25, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Sun- Pot roast with potatoes
    Mon- pork chops, green beans, scalloped potatoes
    Tues- spaghetti
    Weds- fried chicken
    Thurs- taquitos, rice, beans
    Fri- out to eat!

  2. Jennifer Murata March 25, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    I told you I used my lime press the other way, too! As for me, hoping to not cook at all this week and just flee the country. 🙂

  3. Gretchen March 25, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    Here we go.

    Sun– Asian salad with brown rice noodles
    Mon– your pasta sauce listed in Oct 2011 with brown rice pasta and either broccoli or green beans
    Tues– baked potatoes
    We’d– pizza make ones for the kids according to their diet and a vegan one for me on a flat out with left over sauce from Monday
    Thurs– blt and a veggie sandwich for me
    Fri and sat–;)

  4. emascorro March 25, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Okay, here it goes: I’m finally gonna make some recipes from my Practically Raw cookbook.
    SUN: Quinoa pasta w/veggie broth sauteed vegetable medley(my own “recipe” :D) I also made spicy slaw today to have on hand for “burgers”
    MON: pasta/veggie leftovers, kale-tahini salad
    TUES: Spaghetti Alla Marinara(spaghetti will be zucchini)
    WED: I think bean or mushroom burgers, avocado cream soup
    THURS:fish night, quinoa pilaf; I will have spinach salad w/ asian vinaigrette and pilaf

    FRI: chicken and broccolli; almond butter sesame noodles

  5. emascorro March 25, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    oh, sweet potatoes in various forms!! bought some at Costco!

  6. Kate March 26, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    -baked sweet potatoes, green beans & salad
    -black bean and corn quinoa salad over greens
    -Indian lentil curry with brown rice & roasted cauliflower
    -make our own breakfast pizzas, & fruit salad

Leave a Reply

