Spring break, meal planning, and sushi!

11 Mar

Struggling this week with inspiration.  It is spring break! We have some sweet friends coming in for a visit for a few days…yay!  The kids got to make a list of what they wanted to do this week.  One of the things was ride bikes to a park for a picnic.  We did that together as a family.  So beautiful and so much fun!

Another thing requested was that we go for sushi.  LOVE that one!  Mostly because we get vegan sushi and the kids love it!  I LOVE that the kids love Japanese food as much as we do.

Monday:Coconut Curry Peanut Soup (pictured above)with an Asian salad: lettuce, carrots, cucumbers, peppers with a miso dressing

Tuesday: Gretchen’s fabulous meal (Can’t remember what).  Our friends will be with us and I will make mashed potatoes for all of the kiddos, as well as a veggie.

Wednesday:My black bean and quinoa tacos with homemade guacamole and Jack’s salsa from Costco.

Thursday: Take the kids out to sushi!!!

Friday: Homemade pizza night.  Why mess with a perfect night?  We watch America’s Funniest Videos and eat our own pizzas.  So fun and relaxing.  And the best part, we LAUGH OUT LOUD!!!

That is all I have for now.

What are YOUR ideas?  I come back and look at comments for ideas, so post away!

10 Responses to “Spring break, meal planning, and sushi!”

  1. meredithmoza March 11, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    What do you do for pizza crust?

    • brittluck March 11, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      We make it from the Chebe mix (egg replacer and no cheese) or we buy the frozen Chebe. This week we are trying Pamela’s bread mix and making a crust from that. We shall see!

  2. Kate March 11, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    I don’t plan for a specific day I just plan about 3 main meals for the week. We eat leftovers or rollovers (I will probably make quesadillas with the leftover chili as filling) the other days and go out once on the weekend. 🙂

    1. Trying a new Thai Chicken Curry recipe (still have not found The One), brown rice & Brittany’s Asian salad with miso dressing

    2. mashed potatoes, zesty Brussels sprouts, roasted cauliflower, green salad with PW’s Maple Dijon dressing

    3. Meatless Chili, fruit salad

    • brittluck March 12, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      We are on the same food brainwave this week 🙂

  3. emascorro March 11, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    tomorrow I’m gonna spending time with my new cookbook Pratically Raw… she has cooked options available and I’m excited to get started!! :))

    i’ll have to say, I sure was craving a black bean burger this weekend!!

    • brittluck March 12, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      Yum!! I try to keep 2 meals a day raw…though I also eat hummus at some of those meals. I would love new recipes!

  4. Julie March 12, 2012 at 5:47 am #

    We are still meat eaters. I eat plants most of the day, but these are family meals.

    Sunday- a bug pot of pinto beans with sausage, corn bread

    Monday- steak, asparagus, roasted red potatoes

    Tuesday- lasagna, salad

    Weds- chicken tettrazini

    Thurs- homemade fried chicken, rice, gravy

    Friday- pizza as well

    Saturday- roast in cast iron skillet with potatoes

    • brittluck March 12, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      I am impressed with the comlexity of your menu! I bet you are a fabulous cook!

  5. Gretchen March 12, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Here are our plans for the week.
    Sun– we hard company so we had BBQ beef sandwiches
    Mon–taco salad with meatless filling or if I have some ground meat in the freezer still I might use that up. My kids have been longing for this for about a month
    Tues–vegan veggie pasta pie from http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/05/vegan-pasta-pie.html?m=1 this is a new recipe so we will see how it goes. This is for the smith clan also.
    Wed–spring rolls
    Thurs–leftovers
    Fri– homemade pizza night
    Sat– new year soup that is the one with spinach, chick peas, pintos, lentils and rice noodles. It is so good! I even did lunch ans with the kids this week simple things but didn’t want them to have typical lunch food all week:)

    • brittluck March 12, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Funny, we may do spring rolls tomorrow night now. I am on an Asian kick….we had a fabulous Asian salad tonight. The Yees won’t be here on Wed night, so I am not going to do tacos now. My family has too many black beans sometimes!

Leave a Reply

