Weekly meal planning and crowding out your plate!

18 Feb

My dear friend, Jennifer, is a kindred spirit.  We both studied nutrition in college.  And we both love food waaaaaay too much.  It is {close to} all we talk about.

She is currently in a really cool nutrition  and holistic health program, wherein she will get a certification to be a health coach.  She is learning a bunch of great stuff.  One thing she introduced me to was the Crowding Out Principle.  Basically, you crowd out our plate with fruits and veggies.  Duh!  Why haven’t I thought of this?

So here is my challenge to YOU: no matter what kind of diet you follow or don’t, can you try for one week to crowd out your plate?  Make 2/3 of every plate fruits and veggies!  Think about how happy your body would be!  Let me know if you take the challenge!

Menu (This is a light week for me.  I need it!  I feel like I am in the kitchen non stop and am looking forward to this week!!!):

Sunday: Leftover soup with apples.

Monday: Celebrating our neice, Gabi’s, birthday at Alamo Cafe!  Fun!  (and yay!! no cooking!  I will have their vegetarian black beans with some guac and will bring broccoli to dip in the salsa since I can’t have chips.  I may see if they can do veggie fajitas without cooking them in margarine)

Tuesday: Vegan and gluten free fettuccine alfredo (Potato Alfredo) and oven roasted broccoli  and fruit for us and the Hokensons

Wednesday: Black  bean burgers from Nutritious Eats with guacamole and massaged kale salad, fruit for dessert

Thursday: I am going to a mom’s night out where we will be talking about the benefits of juicing!  Fun!  Luck will be on cooking duty and will make grilled cheese or egg in the holes with the kiddos.  I will probably eat hummus and veggies for dinner.

Friday: Homemade pizza night.  Cheese for the kids, artichoke hearts, leftover broccoli, avocado and kalamatas for me, Luck somewhere in between.

Saturday:  Leftovers!

Share your menu!  And remember, you don’t need to be eating vegan or weird or even healthy!  Just come up with a plan and it will help you so much!  Can’t wait to see what you are cooking!  Remember to add links to any recipes online that you are using so we can all learn from each other!

13 Responses to “Weekly meal planning and crowding out your plate!”

  1. Gretchen February 19, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Here is our menu for the week. FYI Alamo cafe has soy sauce in their fajita marinade so ask if the veggies are marinated in it as well. Jenna discovered this new ingredient the hard way:(. Here is our menu for the week.
    Sun–the leek and asparagus risotto you made last week with fruit and a green salad.
    Mon–my parents will be with us do pork loin roasted potatoes and veggies
    Tues– your yummy eats
    Wed– nutritious eats vegetarian chili with gf corn bread
    Thurs–leftovers
    Fri–pizza night cheese for the Greg Madi and Ben, gf cheese for will, and vegan for me
    Sat–crockpot gf minestrone this soup keeps getting bumped I am determined to make it, gf bread, and green salad

    • brittluck February 19, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Good to know about the soy! Maybe I should just eat a salad with tomatoes and guac and dressed with salsa.

  2. Gretchen February 19, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Here are the new links I am trying didn’t have them before. For the cornbread I am goin to try this green chili cornbread from gluten free goddess. I have loved all her recipes and have a bunch of roasted hatch chilis in the freezer. http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2007/12/skillet-cornbread-with-green-chiles.html?m=1
    The other new recipe I am trying is the vegetarian chili from nutritious eats, the pictures Melanie took if this dish make my mouth water I can’t wait to try it. http://www.nutritiouseats.com/the-best-vegetarian-chili/

  3. Jennifer Murata February 19, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    This week I’m throwing a bone to my meat lovin’ kid (who has recently decided she doesn’t like pasta, weird right?). I’m trying to work my way back into my 10 year olds heart. 🙂

    Sunday: Green meatballs, roasted eggplant, green salad

    Monday: Slow cooker beef and black beans from http://www.marthastewart.com/313267/slow-cooker-beef-and-black-bean-chili?czone=food/comfort-foods-center/comfort-foods-dishes&backto=true&backtourl=/photogallery/slow-cooker-recipes#slide_5. Served over sauteed greens.

    Tuesday: Cobb salad (said 10 y/o favorite meal). Romaine, beans (prob from the meal above), carrots, cucumbers, hard boiled eggs, feta, avocado and anything else from the fridge that makes its presence known.

    Wednesday: Cuban Sandwiches (from Monday’s beef) and salad.

    Thursday: Beans and Toast. Easy, easy. Starts with some rustic bread. Sauteed garlic followed by diced tomatoes, white beans, fresh sage, salt and pepper. I might throw in a handful of greens as well. It’s great with a fried egg mixed in, too.

    Friday: Homemade pizza.

    Of course any of this is subject to change if Miss Sadie and I go into the hospital. At least most of the cooking is done up front.

    And yes, I am now in an awesome program through the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. I love it! I really look forward to my future as a health coach.

    Have a great week all!

    Jen

    • brittluck February 19, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      what are green balls???

      • Jennifer Murata February 19, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

        Yeah, that’s supposed to be greek meatballs. 🙂

      • brittluck February 19, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

        Haha! I was thinking, “Man, for this being a possible hospital week, she is going a little out there!”

  4. trosas@rosaspllc.com February 19, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Tomorrow salmon, rice, and veggies. Tuesday sushi and veggies. Wednesday-Sunday grandparents have the kids and all bets are off. Starting again the next week. Two days is a big step for us!

    • brittluck February 19, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      Great job! I take it you have gf soy sauce?

  5. Itza Gutierrez-Andrade February 19, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Here goes…
    Monday – whatever I can find at Rodeo – Yeeeehaw!!
    Tuesday – (Denny’s kids eat free!!!) – Fit Fare Scrambled EggWhitesW/spinach/tomatoes, Turkey Bacon/English Muffin/Fruit.
    Wednesday – Sloppy Joe night – Whole wheat buns (wish they would make ’em with sesame seeds!!)
    Thursday – Crispy Taco night (ground beef, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, lots of Tobasco 😉
    Friday – Usually Papa John’s pizza night to go with our Long Movie(s)
    Saturday – Probably Something Crock Pot – A.1.Pot Roast recipe I found on the bottle 🙂
    Sunday…Hoping to try the Grilled Chicken Salad at Texadelphia

    I usually have a pot of Spanish Rice and Beans around here.
    I always keep Raw broccoli, cauliflower, little tomatoes, carrots n grapes around for snacking.
    But we also have a lot of “Packaged Snacks” for mid-afternoon/on-the-go snacks.
    SNACKING is where we need help in our home.
    Suggestions???

    • brittluck February 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      We try to keep snacking around here to: fruit, nuts (they both like the already shelled pistacchios from Costco), popcorn, Beanitos (chips made from black beans), and chocolate almond milk. They are both usually happy with fruit. But that doesn’t hold them for very long! And on the go snacking is just that stuff in a baggie. Eating this way makes it hard to grab snacks….which I think is a blessing in disguise.

  6. Jess February 22, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Sorry, I am a little late to post.
    My week starts on Saturday but I will go ahead and post. 🙂
    Saturday – Quinoa stuffed peppers
    Sunday – Crock Pot Sweet and Sour meatballs (These really weren’t 100% healthy, just wanted to do something my husband really liked. He is so kind and eats all the food I like to eat. :))
    Monday – I worked so my husband made himself Tacos
    Tuesday – Leftovers cause I went out with my girlfriends
    Wednesday – Chicken, Sweet Potato Veg soup from my new Clean eating cookbook
    Thursday – Stuffed Chicken with some veg
    Friday – Quinoa and Black Bean tacos

Leave a Reply

