Too Much of a Good Thing

31 Jan

So as a follow up to my weird bruising, it seems I was getting too much Omega 3 in my diet.  The doc said that some people take Omega 3 instead of an aspirin to keep their blood thin.  Who knew?!?!  Certainly not me!  His opinion was this:  The vegan source of omega 3 is algae.  Fish eat algae, which is why they are high in omega 3’s.  Instead of taking a product of the fish, the omega 3’s are more potent coming straight from the source.  I am not explaining myself well.  But there you have it.

I stopped taking omega 3’s for about a week.  Bruising healed and stopped.  The life span of platelets is 10 days.  He said I would know if that was the reason within that period.  He was right!  I am now back on omega 3’s, but per Elisa’s recommendation, I am just staying on a smaller dose.  We take omega 3’s because of all of their great benefits, including the anti-inflammatory benefits they offer.  And when you have a disease of inflammatory responses, this is a good thing!

Leave a Reply

