Sweet potato and black bean tacos!

31 Jan

I have an obsession with looking for recipes online.  I just keep looking, and looking, and looking….

In fairness, I had a pretty good repertoire of recipes before 6 months ago.  It feels like I am starting over.  And it is hard to find recipes that meet all of my nutritional criteria that I think will stand a chance of the kids liking.

Tonight, I made a quick slaw while I had sweet potatoes roasting.  This recipe is super yummy and full of good things!  We kept it gluten and corn free and had it on brown rice tortillas.  But you do whatever floats your boat.

For the slaw, I just shredded some cabbage and baby sweet peppers and squeezed the fresh juice of one lime on it.  I then seasoned it with kosher salt, cracked pepper, and a pinch of raw sugar.  Massage it with your hands to really let those flavors blend.  Then taste it.  If it needs more seasoning, go for it.  If I had an extra red onion, I would have added that.  You can really play with this and mix it up.  It is a GREAT way to amp up your veggie intake.

Have you seen these little cuties?  Tiny little sweet peppers?  Yum!  Luck and I have just recently realized how much we love colored bell peppers.  We spent years eating green when we could have had these!

For the tacos, I found a recipe on Tasty Kitchen that looked good.  Then I adapted it for us.

Sweet potato and black bean tacos

Homemade slaw (see above)

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into smallish pieces

Olive oil

Ancho chili powder (or regular, I just happen to love ancho)

Cumin

Kosher salt and cracked pepper

1/2 of an onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, pressed through a garlic press

2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed

Brown rice tortillas (or whatever you prefer)

Avocado, cut into chunks

Preheat oven to 400.  Toss your sweet potatoes in a small amount of olive oil (you don’t need much), 1 tsp chili powder, 2 tsp cumin, and salt and pepper, if desired.  Roast them for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, add your chopped onion and minced garlic to a pan and saute’ it over medium heat.  I don’t use oil to saute’ anymore, but you can certainly do it.  Add a bit of salt to the onions and that will help coax the water out of them and they won’t stick.  (I use a nonstick pan….but it isn’t the kind where the nonstick can peel up. This is the only time I use nonstick pans.)  Add water to the pan if they begin to stick.  Cook until they are soft and translucent.  Add the drained and rinsed black beans.  Add another teaspoon or more of the ancho chili powder, as well as a few more tsp of cumin.

When the sweet potatoes are done, add them to the beans.  Stir and taste for seasoning.  Always taste for seasoning!  Learn to tell when things need more salt.  Or learn to like things without salt.

Fill your tortillas with this mixture.  Then top with the slaw and avocados or lettuce or jalapenos or onions or whatever makes you happy.  This is gluten, dairy, corn free, as well as being vegan and nutritious!

2 Responses to “Sweet potato and black bean tacos!”

  1. emmycooks February 1, 2012 at 12:07 am #

    Yum! I used to make sweet potato and black bean burritos that I loved, but this looks even easier!

  2. emascorro February 1, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    can’t wait to try! we love the colored peppers!! I’ve been using them for a couple years now… put them in whatever I can 😉 thanks for enjoying looking for good recipes and letting me copy!!

Leave a Reply

