Thai soup success!

7 Nov

I looooooooove the tangy, coconutty soups filled with veggies that I have found at good Thai places.  I think about them and long for those flavors. (most of them have chicken, but you can order them with veg stock and no chicken)

Don’t get me wrong.  The first time I took a sip/bite, I was horrified by the clashing of flavors on my tongue.  Heat, lime, sweet, OVERLOAD.  And then I wanted another and another and another bite.  I was hooked!

Today, I decided to not follow any recipes, to not even look any up.  Instead, I went with my gut.  If you are from Thailand or know authentic Thai cooking methods, please don’t judge!  Just try it!  I made the pot today and between my mom, hubs and myself, we ate the whole thing.  So sad!

Thai Soup

1 Container organic (or not) veggie broth

1 onion, sliced into rings and cut into half

1 head cabbage, sliced

1 red pepper, sliced

2 cans coconut milk

Gluten free soy sauce

4 limes

Cilantro, handful, chopped

Red pepper flakes, to taste (I like mine spicy)

Shitake mushrooms, sliced in to quarters

Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

Heat a soup pot on high with a small amount of the veg broth.  Add the onions and “water saute” them  for a few minutes.  Then add the remaining broth and all of the cabbage and red pepper slices.  Bring it all to a simmer, then turn the heat down just to maintain the simmer. Add the coconut milk, several shakes of soy sauce, the juice of 4 limes, the cilantro, red pepper flakes and mushrooms.  Taste for seasoning and adjust.  Then put the lid on that simmering pot of yummy and let it cook until the mushrooms look cooked.

You can literally add any vegetable you want here.  I have had this soup with fresh tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, and carrots.  I would have used Bok Choy, but just used a regular head of cabbage b/c it is what I had on hand.

Holy cow, I love this soup!

Leave a Reply

