Pie!

6 Sep

To celebrate the completion of my first successful juice fast, Luck and I made a pie.  Gretchen had shared the website and recipe that she found online.  It seemed like just the right thing to make.
I was veeeeery skeptical what the kids would think.  A pie with no added sugar?  No flour?  No butter or oil?
The only thing that bothers me about this pie is the canned mandarin oranges.  Sure, I got the ones in pear juice, not sugar.  But still, canned fruit doesn’t count as fruit in my book.  But I went ahead and used them.
Even though my photography skills are lacking, it was a beautiful pie!

Here is the recipe:

Fruit Pie With Date-Nut Crust {vegan, gluten-free, raw}

 Adapted from: http://amy-newnostalgia.blogspot.com/

Ingredients for Crust:
1 cup dates (I prob used more)

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup cashews

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Cinnamon

Ingredients for Filling:
2-3 bananas, sliced lengthwise

4 ounces strawberries, sliced

6 or 7 frozen whole strawberries, blended into a puree

4 ounces raspberries

1 can mandarin oranges, drained

Blend the crust ingredients together in a food processor to acheive a sticky consistency.  Press the blended crust ingredients into a pie pan. Lay the bananas on top of the crust and press along the sides. Place the strawberry slices on top of the bananas.  Pour the strawberry puree over the strawberries and bananas, and press into the gaps.  Place the raspberries and mandarin oranges on top of the pie.  Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour or longer before serving.


It was over the top good!  We all LOVED it!  Kids begged for seconds.  It could not have gone over better.  The only thing I wish is that I had more!!!
Happy, healthy eating!

Leave a Reply

