Blah, black beans, and a blog.

9 Jul

Well, I achieved step one.  I got my doctor’s e-mail address!  Now I need to compile journal articles and books and whatnot to present to him.  I have been vegan this week, with exception of an egg used in the falafel I made on Tuesday and a tiny bit of diary that I served the Greek meal with (I could not pass up on my homemade tzatziki and some feta) and gluten and corn free.  Vegan just means vegetarian with no eggs or dairy or any animal products whatsoever.

I am feeling very sad about food.  I don’t have many options and end up eating the same few things over and over.  And then when I am finished, my stomach hurts.  So cry me a river, I am feeling a tad sorry for myself.  Get over it, right?  This is just Lupus.  This is not cancer.  I am not in a wheelchair.  I am still living life and loving my friends and family. 🙂

But I am blah. Blah about the prospective food future of mine.  Blah that my kids won’t remember the good baker and cook that I was.  Blah that I am that weirdo who only eats vegetables.

We enjoyed some Cuban black beans I made in the crockpot this week!  They are so full of flavor and so very yummy!  We all had brown rice and beans last night for dinner. Reid’s rating meter exploded he liked them so much. Picture his thumb going up and down, up and down and then POW!  He said on a scale of 1-10, it was a 100.  Dani gave them an 8.  This is HUGE.  Luck and I ate ours with fresh tomatoes and avocados and they all had cheese with their’s.  It was a cheap, fun family dinner we all enjoyed.

Cuban Black Beans!

5 cups water, plus a tad extra

1 lb black beans, rinsed

2 bay leaves

2 T Olive oil

1 onion

Bell pepper (any color…I used yellow)

Jalapeno

6 garlic cloves

2 more T olive oil

2 tsp oregano

1 ½ tsp cumin

½ cup chopped cilantro

1 T fresh lime juice

Kosher salt and pepper

Pace water, beans, and bay leaves, and olive oil in crockpot.  Cook on high for 4 hours or until beans are starting to get soft.  Now you are going to make a sofrito!  Take the onion, peppers, and garlic and put in food processor, heavy duty blender, or chop with a knife.  I use my Blendtec and puree them.  Heat the next amount of OO on the stove and add the puree to the heated oil.  Cook for 10 minutes or so to really develop those flavors.  Add that mixture, plus the spices and lime juice to the crockpot.  Remove the bay leaves.  Finish cooking in the crockpot until the beans and tender.  Take a fork or a masher of some sort and mash some of the beans in the crockpot.  This will help them thicken.    Now is when you add salt and pepper.  If you salt beans before they are cooked, they will take MUCH longer to cook.  Please, please don’t be afraid of using salt.  Especially kosher salt or sea salt.  It takes more than table salt to get the right flavor. I really believe one of the main things that separates good cooks from bad ones is their ability to use salt. Enough brings out flavors. Too much kills flavors. So when you are to season to taste….this means that you must taste!  Add more if needed and keep that process going until you really, really TASTE that the beans are good!  Enjoy!

I know I will get my legs under me and get going on this.  But I am not quite excited yet.

If you would like to join me in meal planning, my friend Melanie Macedo Flinn and I went to UT together and studied nutrition. I got sidetracked after finishing my degree because I met this boy who wanted to get married. 🙂 She stayed the course and got her Masters and became an RD.  I am so happy we each took our own course and I love following her blog!  Join her each week as we plan our meals for the week.  You will get new recipe ideas and health tips.  And putting your meal plan out there in cyberspace is a great way to hold yourself accountable to healthy, good meals all week long.  Plus, you can see what your friends are eating.  So invite others because the more, the merrier.

Here is the website: http://www.nutritiouseats.com/

And follower her on FB so you can share with others: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nutritious-Eats/147142365314008

Happy Saturday!  And here is to finding fun in your food….whatever food you may choose to eat!

5 Responses to “Blah, black beans, and a blog.”

  1. Michelle May 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    These are absolutely the best beans ever! I made enough to share with my bff and my neighbor! I had been reluctant to make beans, but I’m almost vegan and am tired of eating the same things over and over. I’m going to use these in my next new recipe for Black Bean-Quinoa Burgers….thanks for the recipe!

    • brittluck May 30, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      So glad to hear it! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Easter! And a meal plan for the week! « Pressing on… - April 8, 2012

    […]  Oh shoot! Better get on that!  Probably peanut butter in some fashion.  Tonight, I will make my crockpot black beans overnight so that I can save money this week.  The cans are not as healthy and cost a lot more […]

  2. Cilantro lime quinoa and black beans! « Pressing on… - April 12, 2012

    […] 4 cups of cooked black beans, rinsed and drained (I made my crockpot Cuban black beans) […]

  3. Vegan Alfredo and meal planning! « Pressing on… - July 8, 2012

    […] Spanish brown rice with my black beans, avocado, and broccoli […]

Leave a Reply

