18 things I learned this past year.

12 May

I have had Lupus for a year now.  Here are 18 things I have learned.

  • 1.  It is possible to be sick every day and continue exercising.  Naysayers, I have done it for a year.  It is NOT easy.  But it is possible.
  • 2.  Prednisone makes me a chubbier version of myself.  I have been on it for 5 1/2 months now with no break.  Chubby wubby!
  • 3.  I can lose that weight when I get off!  I now know it is not a life sentence to be chubs and can just hang on until he takes me back off of it.
  • 4.  A whole lot of people don’t really want to know how you are doing. They only want to know if you are doing better.  Sorry, Charlie.  I don’t need to pretend I feel better so you can feel better.
  • 5.  True friends do really sweet things.  I have had random meals, gift cards dropped off, food mailed, books sent, fun stuff for the kids, and other little surprises that make my life so sweet.
  • 6.  I love eating vegetarian!  One year ago….I would have never believed it.  It is possible to eat vegetarian, gluten free, corn free, dairy free, and egg free…and still eat fabulous food.  (P.S. Thanks, God, for not making coffee, wine, and dark chocolate on that list!)
  • 7.  I have people around me who can completely take over my job, if needed.  Really, this may sound dumb.  But as a mom, it is heart warming to know that if something ever happened to me, my family can keep running.  And well.
  • 8.  Cancer really, really sucks.  No, I don’t have cancer.  But you all know by now that Sadie does and this year has taught me just how horrendous it is.
  • 9.  I can’t be in sunshine, most lights make me sick, and I can REALLY embarrass one of my kiddos with the right hat on.  🙂
  • 10.  People like to question the medicines you are on.  They like to imply they would do it differently.
  • 11.  Having a dog makes us happy.
  • 12.  I adore both pomegranates and marinara.  My love affair is still going strong.
  • 13.  It is important to get into your pj’s as soon as you step foot in the door.
  • 14.  Massages keep my body from getting injured.  Without them, I get hurt.
  • 15.  I LOVE Pilates and want to do it the rest of my life!
  • 16.  I CAN homeschool my kids 3 days a week, teach exercise classes, and continue life, despite being sick.  I can still go places when I am nauseated and have fever.  I can nap 2 times a day, and yet still keep going.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
  • 17.  I have some friendships that are closer than I ever imagined possible.
  • 18.  Life is really, really, really hard, but God is really, really, really good!
Leave a Reply

