Update

25 Jan

Veggies, fruits, & lots and lots of vitamins…THAT is how I am eating these days.

100% gluten free

90% vegetarian

80% vegan

The difference between vegan and vegetarian is that vegan takes all animal products out, like dairy and eggs.  So I sneak a few in there, like an egg or two baked in to desserts.  Same with dairy.  Oh, and Luck made a gluten free blackberry cobbler that I HAD to have a little ice cream on.  Isn’t that in the Bible?

I have been on Prednisone for about 2 weeks now.  It is definitely making a dent.  I feel like I am creeping back to a point where I can see some hope.  Today, I even had a moment where I felt normal!  The stinky part is that almost as quickly as I felt it, I walked in to Marshalls and started feeling those pesky lights.  But heck, 60 seconds where I feel nothing bad is better than not having 60 seconds!  And maybe that will turn in to a few minutes…and then hours!

Feeling better on Prednisone is both a blessing and a curse.  I catch more bugs b/c my immune system is suppressed.  Yet my Lupus dies down a bit, b/c my immune system is suppressed.  It helps me feel better, but it makes me retain water (gain weight).  Oh, and then there is that little fact that it is toxic.  I do not think this is a good long term solution.  Hopefully a better one will just be around the corner.

Speaking of weight, this time around on steroids, I have stuck to my new diet.  It has kept the weight gain at bay.  I still get really swollen.  But all in all, I think I can manage.  And this time, if I put on some weight, I can know that it is not forever and will come off if I work at it.

And I think the diet may be helping.  Time will tell!  I keep hearing stories of people controlling their disease through diet….We shall see!

Leave a Reply

