Merry Christmas and a Healthy New Year!

27 Dec

Merry Christmas!  Did you like our Christmas card this year?  No?  You did not get one?  Hmmm….I am sure it is on it’s way.  🙂  (Just please don’t cut me off your list!  I adore getting cards!  I will be back in the game soon!)

Here is the rundown: we got a dog!  Her name is Lizzie and we adore her.  This was a wonderful Christmas season for many reasons, but she was definitely the biggest blessing of all!  She adds a peace and a missing piece to our family.

Yesterday, I probably stood up for 20 minutes the whole day.  Physically, I am at a low.  Started back on steroids b/c my pleurisy is very painful. And my knee would not move.  Pain like I have not yet felt. Fatigue that is not the kind you can push through.  I am back to falling asleep in the middle of whatever is going on in the living room, multiple times a day. My skin has sun spots and is intermittently bleeding.  And then there is the extreme confusion.

I guess that the stress of Christmas just took it’s toll.  I am glad the kids are off of school for 2 more weeks.  A whole lot of TV and movies never killed kids, right?  Good!

I went to the doc on Thursday.  He wants me to stay on these meds for another month or two.  If my Lupus has not subsided, he wants to possibly put me on a chemo drug, in a small dose.  I am supposed to do my research and tell him my thoughts next time I go in.  It has side effects, of course.  If you have ever been on Methotrexate, let me know what you thought.  He also wants to MRI my brain.  I can’t decide if I want to do that or not.  Seems like unnecessary exposure to radiation.  But he wants to make sure that the cognitive part of the disease is not showing up in my brain.  I worded that wrong, but you get my drift.  Up to 90% of women with Lupus have a component that causes cognitive “issues.”  But there is a percentage of Lupus patents that also actually get damage to their brain.  This is what he wants to check for.

Bottom line right now is that I am feeling very alone.  I am open on this blog about what is going on.  But other than that, only Luck really knows what is happening.  My cognitive function has definitely been reduced recently.  I hate it, I hate it, I hate it.  I embarrass myself often (not the funny, look what dumb thing I just did! either).  Find myself sitting alone in stores like Target…on the floor.  Ugh…I don’t even want to say more on this.

I am back on a vegan diet, starting today.  Hopefully, this will help!  I received a gift card to Whole Foods this week from a friend who wanted to do a meal for me.  I am so unbelievably blessed!!  I will be heading there in the next few days to buy food for my family.

Thank you, friends, for caring.  I pray that I will be able to return all of these blessings to YOU some day!  Have a Healthy New Year!!!!

Leave a Reply

