Success!

22 Aug

Today, we had an uncle in town from California.  We were going to get together for dinner and I was to bring dessert.  My first big challenge!   Could I make something gluten free, corn free, soy free, peanut free, egg free, dairy free AND yummy???

Why, yes!  It is possible!  I present to you:

This, my friends, is a chocolate pie!  And it is delicious.  And check out the ingredient list…absolutely everything in it nourishes you!

Coconut Pie Crust

3/4 cups blanched almond flour

1/4 tsp sea salt

3/4 cups UNSWEETENED, shredded coconut, toasted (just put in toaster until slightly browned)

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted over very low heat

1 Tbl. agave nectar

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt, and coconut.  In a med bowl, whisk coconut oil, agave, and vanilla.  Add wet ingredients to the almond flour mixture and mix thoroughly.  Press into a deep dish pie pan.  Bake for 7-9 minutes and then let it cool completely before filling.

Chocolate Cream Filling
2 cans coconut milk

pinch sea salt

¼ cup tapioca flour (also called Tapioca starch) or arrowroot

½ cup agave nectar

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

2 cups dark chocolate, coarsely chopped

Bring coconut milk and salt to a boil in a medium pot.  Sift arrowroot powder into the pot, whisk vigorously by hand or with a hand blender for 2 minutes.  Whisk in agave and vanilla.  Remove from heat and let stand for 1 minute.  Add chocolate, stirring vigorously until completely melted.  Chill in refrigerator for ½ hour until cool.

Fill the crust with the chocolate filling and cover and chill for at least an hour.

This recipe came from a cookbook my dear friend, Jillian, gave me.  Jillian also has an autoimmune disease (actually, a few) and the same food allergies as me.  She is a fighter!!  I am proud to call her my friend and I love her dearly.

I did not make it with the crust the author calls for.  I thought the coconut would be a good offset to the creamy chocolate.  It was FABULOUS!  We all loved it!  In fact, if I did not tell you it was not a regular pie, you would never know…it was THAT good!

Please make it and enjoy it, or pass it along to someone who has food allergies.  They will thank you!

(the cookbook is the same as the blog: http://www.elanaspantry.com/ )

Leave a Reply

