A real pain in my…

3 Aug

lower right abdominal side.

That is what brought me to the Emergency Room yesterday.  Now, I don’t really want to talk about it.  That is why I am writing about it.  Some of you know (because you were in my BodyPump class that I walked out on), but most of you don’t.  The only reason I don’t want to talk about it is because it is embarrassing to me that all of this weird stuff is happening.  I feel like a crazy loon.

I woke up bright and early for my 6 am class.  When I got out of bed, I had a pain in my right side.  By the time I was driving to class, I was very uncomfortable and was wondering what on earth this was.  When I got to the gym, I was able to walk in.  But I could not really focus on anything and the room was ultra bright white.  Once in the exercise room, some members were looking at me oddly.  I went to go load the weights on my bar and realized this was NOT gonna happen.  So I asked them if they minded if I just sat at the front of the room and taught from there.  When the members quickly agreed, one sweet member said, “Are y’all CRAZY?  Look at her! No..this is NOT okay.  You are leaving.  You can’t even stand up!”  So I took my bag and started crying and apologizing profusely that they woke up this early for no reason.  Another sweet member said she would follow me to the doctor.  I got in my car completely hunched over and struggling to move.  I called Luck and asked him to get dressed to come and help me.  I called my parents b/c I could not think straight.  I had no idea where to go.  Tx Med Clinic?  Home?  ER?

At that point, the pain was so bad I knew I had no other option.  And the sweet member came up to my car window and said, “You can’t drive.  Get in my car.”  So I did.  She drove me to the ER.  I texted my friend on the way there.  I knew she worked the night shift at that hospital and was hoping she was still there.

God’s provision:

1) The member driving me to the hospital.  How precious.

2) When I walked in alone to the ER, my sweet friend, Jessica was standing there waiting for me.  Oh what a sight to see a dear friend at a time like that.  I needed her there.  I am not a brave “do this alone” type gal. And seeing her face was all I needed.  And the text she sent me after she left reminding me that He gives strength to the weary- gave me the push I needed to make it to when Luck would get there.

3) My parents went in to action and took over with the kids.  All day.  What would I do without them?

4) After about an hour of excruciating pain on my right side, it left as quickly as it came on.  Ultra sound, CT scan later, and 5 hours later, I was sent home.

5) The man I shared a room with (yet never spoke to b/c a curtain divided us) also had a related autoimmune disease.  It was such a comfort at that moment to know that I was not alone in this crazy world and that these problems were REAL.  Truly, that was such a comfort to me.

6) A really great doc who believed in me and never questioned what I was feeling.  He was great.  And they found a kidney stone waiting to drop on the left side. That should be fun!

7) Having my precious husband by my side.  Oh what life would be like without him?  I dare not even imagine.

So there you have it.  Interestingly, I spent Sunday (the day before my ER trip) having a higher than normal fever and nauseated.  After church and lunch, I was on the couch the rest of the day sleeping.  And after coming home from the hospital, same thing.  Nausea and fever and sleeping.

Is this a virus I picked up b/c my immune system is suppressed?  Is this a reaction to some gluten I ate on Sunday morning?  Since I am allergic to wheat, I ate a cereal that said “wheat free.”  But it had barley in it.  Did this do this?

Today, my friends, is going to be a good day.  I am determined!  I want to be up and feeling good all day.  So here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

