Raspberry Banana Muffins (gluten free)

24 Jul

I woke up feeling sad that I have not cooked for my family in a long time the way I used to.  And lately, I don’t ever have my kids with me in the kitchen.  So while Luck mowed the lawn, we made brunch.  I am on a hunt for new, good, gluten free recipes.

I like to use oat flour.  I have found that it does not taste gritty at all, like lots of gf flours do…it tastes like you are eating white flour!  And is much healthier.

I am no photographer!  My post is not an attempt to be like PW…that, my friends, is simply a dream.  But I actually love evaluating recipes based on seeing all the ingredients together.  I can decide quickly if I will like it.

Sorry…Reid is still in his boxers here.  It is what it is.  🙂

This was Dani’s first time to actually cook on the stove.  After helping with the muffins, she took on the apple sausage.  I would post it, too…but it was not all that good. (SHE did a great job of flipping and heating, the actual brand of organic apple chicken sausage was less than wonderful)

Dry ingredients –
-2 cups gluten free oat flour
-2 tsp baking powder
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1 tsp nutmeg
-1 cup raspberries

Wet ingredients-
-3 tbls oil (optional)
-4 tbls maple syrup (optional)
-2 mashed ripe bananas
-1 cup milk
-1 tsp lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350

Add the lemon juice to the milk and let it sit while you do the next step.
Combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl and mix the berries with the dry ingredients.
Mix the rest of the wet ingredients together and then mix them together with the flour and berries. Be careful so that you don’t overmix which will result in not so good muffins.

Bake for 40 minutes or more….ours took quite a while.

They are MUCH flatter looking.  Certainly not the picture of muffin perfection.  But who cares when they taste good?!?!

The verdict:  We really liked them!  I love that the only sweetener in them is maple syrup.  They have the goodness of oat flour, bananas, raspberries, & coconut oil.  I did not tell my kids they were healthy so that they would evaluate them fairly and both they and Luck gave them great reviews!

If your family is used to boxed muffins, this will let them down.  They do not have the high pitched sweet factor (not a real term, but you get my drift!) of pre-made or boxed muffins.  But they are hearty and delish!  The whole raspberries are sooooo good in there.  Gives them just the right tartness.  Next time, I will sprinkle a little natural sugar on top before baking to add that extra little touch.  Also, the original author of this used soy milk, cardamom, and quinoa flour.  Feel free to experiment for yourself!

Leave a Reply

