My latest thing…

14 Jul

So evidently, I was a little slow in the game of learning all about the benefits of coconut oil.  See when I was studying Nutrition at UT, things were different.  Coconut oil was a no-no.  So I have literally paid no attention to it.  Until I went to a natural health guy who helped me with vitamins and such in an attempt to get this Lupus under control.

Now I LOVE this stuff!  So many benefits!  So tasty!  So good for you!

The benefits of coconut oil can be attributed to the presence of lauric acid, capric acid and caprylic acid.  It has properties that are known to be antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial, soothing, and more. Some of those benefits: hair care, maintaining cholesterol levels, weight loss, increased immunity, proper digestion and metabolism, relief from kidney problems, heart diseases, high blood pressure, and many more!

http://www.organicfacts.net/organic-oils/organic-coconut-oil/health-benefits-of-coconut-oil.html

This website will tell you a lot more.  But don’t just stop there, start reading about it.  There is a ton of literature out there on it’s benefits.  Buy some and try it.  It makes baked good really yummy.  And coffee, too!  In fact, I am enjoying some right now 🙂  Since getting rid of all things artificial, I enjoy getting fun flavors now and then.  This is a great, healthful way to do that.

I am just on the beginning of this journey…but so far, I am loving it.  I do not miss any of the artificial stuff.  I use butter now!  No more Smart Balance.  We buy as much organic as possible.  And I avoid almost all preservatives, chemicals, and dyes.  I am enjoying food at a new level.  And it makes my body feel good.  But this coconut oil….it is my favorite new thing!

Leave a Reply

